Latest User Reviews

Review of The Cat Lady


Rating by marantana posted on Sep 24, 2017


Even Watched the Credits


As a late addition to the article: I bought this at GoG a year ago for 1.61€. Now, having already bought Hellblade: Senua's Sacrifice, I finally played it. Took me a bit under 12 hours, exploring the different endings. This is one piece of great writing and narration. Thew music is good too, but the story is incredible, capturing the darkness of facing death at a young age as well as describing what deep depression is for afflicted persons (I know from experience). After the ending I needed to chill out and think a minute, making CL one of the few games I watched the end credits for. Time Played: 10-20 hours
Difficulty: Just Right

Review of Sherlock Holmes: The Devil's Daughter


Rating by Relic posted on Sep 23, 2017


Action... and a little bit of adventure


From the start you know you're not going to have much control in this one. A strange woman has moved next door and is insinuating her way into the life of your adoptive daughter. Despite it being only 1894 and women only just now being able to smoke in public without being arrested, she (a complete stranger) seems capable of gaining access to your daughter at anytime and ignoring your angry objections. That however is the least of your problems, as you're channeling Nancy Drew and walk right into the obvious danger of the first case, resulting in one of the too many life threatening action sequences and quick time events. Too much time is spent creeping about, dodging bullets, balancing, quickly hitting the A, W, S or D keys and selecting from multiple dialogue choices within a few seconds. Fortunately you can skip most of this, in the case of crafting a dagger with mouse clicks, it seemed the only way forward. In the second case you channel Lara Croft as do the thought experiment of a 1000 deaths... and with regards to the last case, you're left wondering if it was 'Fever Dreams' as the title indicates. Note although you can never need go there, on the streets outside 221B you can practice arm-wrestling, boxing and darts (all redundant) and 'balancing' (useful, but only time I actually fell) as well as pick up the local papers. The Bad: more an action/stealth game. Watson is pointless. Your costumes don't fool anyone if you accidentally leave them on. The Good: being able to frame 'innocent' people for a crime. A certain annoying American will strut the boards no more. Time Played: 5-10 hours
Difficulty: Very Easy

Review of Black Sails: The Ghost Ship


Rating by Relic posted on Sep 4, 2017


"But alas, it is 1888, and I am but a woman who..."


...must submit to casual violence from a stranger and then heal him in order to obtain items necessary to complete the quest. Although the game states your dialogue will effect how things play, the only significant choice occurs at the end. Until then you must help this impediment to a speedy progression. At the outset your relationship with Lex is strained, possibly due to the fact you're wearing trousers, a jailable offense for another 30+ years. This escalated to the point where I would have loved to watch him bleed out on the floor on the Captain's Cabin. Fortunately it only one requires one to manipulate a lifeboat. The Graphics and atmosphere were suitably haunting. This type of third person navigation leads to a lot of missed items as you painfully try to manipulate your avatar to see all angles of the rooms. Also the dialogue was unable to cope with you moving too far ahead, resulting in Lex demanding I get my head together and solve problems I'd already resolved. Finally, anachronisms aside, the attempt to insert this episode into actual historical events seems unnecessary, especially since the fate of said vessel was not the same. Time Played: 2-5 hours

Review of Cradle


Rating by Relic posted on Sep 2, 2017


Never leaving the Cradle


This game holds your hand the entire time, to the point where there is no use in stacking objects where they are needed. They just respawn at there original locations when you leave the area, and you can't do obvious things like install your solar panel and battery array until the game wants you too. Plenty of information is lying around to read, so much so that the questions your avatar asks seem pointless and ignorant if you've read enough. The story and the graphics save the game. The mini-games nearly kill it,fortunately they can be skipped and despite there being 10 terminals you only have to use 4. Dying is frequent in the 'amusement park': falling from great heights, overcome by black clouds and occasionally just flung up in the air for no reason...not to mention trying to manipulate a power cable quickly enough as lighting strikes in the same place again and again. Time Played: 2-5 hours
Difficulty: Very Easy

Review of Lone Echo


Rating by overberger posted on Aug 29, 2017


Lone Echo Best VR adventure yet


I have well over 100 Vive and Oculus Vive/Oculus demos, games, and sims and I really believe that Lone echo is the best absorbing, touching, fun, and sad VR games I have ever experienced. I'm a 40 year IT professional and 62 YO gamer and really enjoy this sim after a hard day at work. Great job devs. Lets see some similar works of art from the rest of you. I'm developing my soon to be retirement skills to aspire to creating this type of world using Epic and Unity (for now) once I'm done supporting educating the youth of america in higher ed. Time Played: Over 20 hours
Difficulty: Just Right

Review of The Low Road


Rating by viralcontent posted on Aug 23, 2017


Thanks


So exciting Time Played: Under 1 hour
Difficulty: Very Easy

Review of Tacoma


Rating by SamuelGordon posted on Aug 14, 2017


Way too short but worth it


Good: - Great gaming mechanics : it's your job to recover Tacoma's virtual videodata and find out what happened. You can fastforward,pauze or rewind these segments. I recommend you turn off the help in the options, makes it much more interesting. -Lot's of detail: you piece together the story mainly by the video segments but the articles,chats,mails certainly enrichen it. - Likeable "down to earth" characters. I would've like more depth and perhaps some drama between them. Still i'm satisfied. - Decent graphics and great voiceacting - The option to turn down "help" options. Bad: - No puzzles besides figuring out the security code of three doors by watching the video's and some lockers. - You can't pocken an item when you pick it up. You have to hold it your hands the whole time if you want to unlock a locker. - Som many pickable items and pretty much all pointless - Too dark sometimes. No option to turn on lights or have some kind of flashlight. - You can't run. - Predictable ending. - Too short, i finished it in 3 hours and i've done all the extra's. Conclusion: I would recommend it if you like walking simulators. The game's length is too short but worth it. Time Played: 2-5 hours
Difficulty: Very Easy

Page 1 of 104  1 2 3 >  Last ›