Latest User Reviews

Review of Oxenfree


Rating by thorn969 posted on May 26, 2017


Narrative adventure


There's very little game play here. Puzzles are extremely simple and frequently don't even have to be solved for the game to progress. The story was... decent. I was still a bit disappointed... but it was good enough. The review gets it right that the creators did a great job building believable dialogue. Other than that, there's not all that much to this game. So... is it worthwhile? A vaguely interactive horror movie? Time Played: 5-10 hours
Difficulty: Very Easy

Review of Kona


Rating by Overmann.ita posted on May 25, 2017


Good atmosphere makes this game better than the sum of its parts


I completed the full game: this is definitely a flawed game, but a good one. You can bet the developers have been a little confused about what to do EXACTLY with their ideas and the game came out as confused as they’ve been. Still this is an indie game created by young people so I can personally forgive that kind of feeling… Provided the experience as a whole is better than the sum of its parts. And in Kona, I must say it definitely is. There’s a huge immersion factor in the game given the fact that the devs knew for sure how to convey the “Northern Canadian feeling”. So I wandered in the snow for about 8 hours and enjoyed the atmosphere pretty much. This is all that counts about a game sometimes, just be an immersive original experience. That said, the lack of general polish is clear. The story starts good but vanishes quickly, transforming itself from a good detective mystery into a supernatural horror with little to say (despite the atmosphere is still quite good). Too many red herrings and, all in all, just a decent narration supported by the environment. Gameplay-wise, Kona is part survival, part adventure, part walking simulator, and none of its parts is good enough. The survival elements are poor (you collect items and weapons but rarely need them… actually, very few action sequences in the game). Puzzles are just key collection tasks besides the wires riddle. Exploration is just ok, but still the locations are very similar to each other and after a while it becomes a bit boring - luckily the game is short enough to avoid disaster. If good atmosphere is all you look for in a game, Kona plays very good thanks to its environments and astounding soundtrack. If you can’t bear the general lack of polish of indie games, though, this is Just Another Indie Exploration Game. Time Played: 5-10 hours
Difficulty: Easy

Review of Syberia 3


Rating by Overmann.ita posted on May 19, 2017


A classy game, despite some lack of polish


While reading about the Scoring System of AdventureGamers, I stopped for a while to think if Syberia 3 is "a solid adventure that lacks enough polish or ambition to recommend without caution" - or if it is instead just a good game where "some aspects might have been executed better". I played the game on console, without all the technical problems that PC users had at launch. Still, lack of polish is quite evident in the game, starting from its ridiculous frame rate considered the dated graphics. Anyway, the game is definitely one that does not lack ambition. It is, quite like all the other adventures designed by Benoit Sokal, a game with a solid narrative background and a great charisma. The first two episodes of Syberia have always been considered "flawed cult games", somehow. Syberia 3 is no different: it has all that's needed to be considered a cult game designed by an excellent author, but it comes with aspects that should have been executed better. Despite the fact that Sokal does not succeed in making the big step and create a real masterpiece, I still believe Syberia 3 stays true to the series and the genre. It portrays the same decadent poetics of the first adventures, painting characters and environments that sure succeed in keeping a high level of attention and curiosity in the player, maybe touching some emotional strings that too often stay untouched by games today. It does so by creating totally new executions though, so it also succeeds in being a spiritual successor and not just a more-of-the-same. Syberia 3 is also quite a long game, longer than two previous episodes, and full of content. I admired how this is truly a 3D classic adventure game: the authors did not try to skip the puzzles, lower the difficulty level or fill the game with hateful mini games or action sequences. The result is something between past and present, that sure will disappoint the fans of hybridation and modern games, but if you love the classic point and click pace, this is something you'll want to sink your teeth into. I gave it four stars because I found it to be a solid game, the kind of adventure game we need to hit the market from time to time. Sure, it has some narrative ups and downs and its graphics aren't at the same level of Uncharted 4 - anyway, how many adventure games in the last 15 years succeeded in portraying a sound story with great 3D graphics? I mean, without adding so much action into the game that they became part of a totally different genre. All in all, I admit I need a lot of context to give Syberia 3 four stars. But games are not something you can play without a context. And Syberia 3 trapped me in a world that is definetely above average from just about each artistic and narrative aspect. I was captured in the same feelings the first Syberia gave to me some 15 years ago, thanks to the ability of the author to research about Eastern Europe and create believable characters and environments to be placed in a decadent, poetical, steampunk-driven, unique and charismatic low fantasy world. A disappointing - indeed, terrible - ending, some underdeveloped characters, technical glitches and lack of consistent narrative (some bold themes that deserved a far better payoff) prevent Syberia 3 from being superb. Anyway, it's still one of the best adventure games I played since the release of Syberia 2, and I played a lot. Time Played: 10-20 hours
Difficulty: Just Right

Review of The Samaritan Paradox


Rating by thorn969 posted on May 19, 2017


Good puzzles and retro feel... short and could have improved characters


The puzzles were well integrated and generally made good sense... although sometimes I found myself clicking a bit just trying to figure out what to do next. With that, I had about 4 hours for one playthrough. I played a second time to get complete Steam achievements. The story... I found a bit depressing... I enjoyed the fantasy setting and I thought the final ending to the fantasy setting worked very well and was cute... and it does complement the actual ending well. I guess it felt a little flat because I didn't really feel that involved in or connected to the characters. They were a bit two dimensional, especially in the real world... I think if they had more personality and we had more opportunity for idle chit-chat demonstrating unique, quirky personalities... that's what this game needed. It is a kinda nice tribute to Broken Sword... although the story is kept more simple and plausible. But the parallel stories and twists and turns keep it plenty exciting. Time Played: 5-10 hours
Difficulty: Easy

Review of Désiré


Rating by thorn969 posted on May 15, 2017


Not bad as an adventure game...


Yes... this game... seems primarily to exist as a delivery vehicle for social commentary that seems to frequently miss the mark and be generally somewhat incoherent. There is a lot of text that says little in many words. However, as an adventure game, it is generally pretty good. The puzzles tend toward the relatively logical and well-integrated into the world... there are some conversation puzzles that take either esoteric knowledge, outside research, or guessing and checking... there is a quicktime battle, timing punches and guards similar to that found in Sam & Max, but more difficult. And there is a frequent problem with difficulty finding hotspots... and also, hotspots will sometimes do nothing and other times do something... a lot of hotspots have to be clicked twice before there is an appropriate interaction. Sometimes one hotspot won't work until you hit a different hotspot. Several items can only be combined at a certain place and time. These rules at least are generally logical. The artwork is quite nice and the images pretty and the concept of the boy that sees in black and white is interesting... but the gameplay tends to be relatively simple and straightforward once you get past the problems and the focus is on the conversations and story which is difficult to follow with a repugnant philosophy that isn't even all that well supported by the demonstrations in the game. It is available for free on Android, iTunes, or the publisher's website. Time Played: 5-10 hours
Difficulty: Easy

Review of Day of the Tentacle Remastered


Rating by My Dune posted on May 14, 2017


Not for nothing the best adventure all time


The game is of-course the same as the original, but with better grafics, audio and gameplay. That's why the remastered version should deserve, in my eyes, a slightly better rating Time Played: 10-20 hours
Difficulty: Just Right

Review of Thimbleweed Park


Rating by My Dune posted on May 10, 2017


That was about 15 hours of pure enjoyment


That was about 15 hours of pure enjoyment and I can't agree more with the written review by Ivo. I really hope another story will be told because this team did an amazing job! Personally I hope the earnings of this game will be used to make even a better one and despite I like pixel art....when the funding is there.....I'd love to see it in a better graphical version. Time Played: 10-20 hours
Difficulty: Just Right

Page 1 of 101  1 2 3 >  Last ›