Latest User Reviews

Review of Unavowed


Stars - 30

Rating by Cheshire Cat posted on Jun 10, 2019


Overrated


I am a big fan of Wadjet Eye games, but this one felt more like a Telltale game. There are hardly any puzzles, you mostly just click through the conversations and make some decisions that have no important consequences and that's it. Everything else is served on a silver platter. The story had potential, but it failed to make me feel anything for the characters. A mediocre game at best.

Time Played: 5-10 hours

Review of 103


Stars - 35

Rating by Hristovski posted on Jun 9, 2019


Small game, Big warning


I almost lost my nerve at the mirror puzzle, retried some 20 times, even with a walkthrough. Lowered the graphics and did it on one try. :/ Requires high-end machine to enjoy the graphics.

Time Played: Under 1 hour

Review of Dance of Death: Du Lac & Fey


Stars - 40

Rating by Hristovski posted on Jun 8, 2019


I like Victorian era stories


I played the game (I guess the latest and most patched version) and though there still were few graphic glitches like pushing people with you while walking near them, weird camera angles, or talking to no one visible, the game was OK. The story was a bit rushed at some points, with almost no introduction and expansion to the immortals theme story; But I think the setting, the characters and overall foggy London atmosphere are nicely captured. + 1/2 star for that.

Time Played: 2-5 hours
Difficulty: Very Easy

Review of Draugen


Stars - 30

Rating by My Dune posted on May 30, 2019


Could have been so much more


I had fun playing, but I am disappointed too. The game is beautiful. The graphics are very nice and the voice acting is very good. I really got into the story and didn't want to stop playing to get deeper into it. Sadly, my disappointment is great too. This game could have been so much more than only a beautiful walking SIM with a good story. There are no puzzles to be found.... for me a huge miss. Probably also the reason why gameplay is so short. The playtime was only about 3 hours or so. And you will be left with only half of your questions explained. To me it comes over as a game that had great ideas, but has the lack of funds, time, know how or what ever 'other reasons' to implement them all. For an 'classic adventure gamer' this is probably not the game for you. But if you like a nice story inside of a walking Sim, this is absolutely one of the better ones out there!

Time Played: 2-5 hours
Difficulty: Very Easy

Review of Irony Curtain: From Matryoshka with Love


Stars - 25

Rating by Doom posted on May 27, 2019


A 70-year-old joke


I read in some promotional material that the game satirizing communism was made by people "who lived there". The devs are Poles who indeed lived under communism for 40 years. And yet their game feels little more than a collection of all cold war cliches about Soviet Russia. The country of Matryoshka is presented as a post-apocalyptic society with decayed red-grey settings and endless Stalin/vodka/Gulag jokes. Same game could've been easily made by Americans or Brits. In fact Russians themselves made Red Comrades Save the Galaxy some 20 years ago that worked much better as a satire. That's not to say that the devs were trying to make a quick buck - despite the depressing setting the game is stylishly drawn and animated with lots of neat details and references. Evan the protagonist himself is a mix of Guybrush, Larry and Rufus. Another source of humour is inventory: the interface allows to manipulate items in a close-up view, and boy do I admire the fantasy of those artists who drew them. Puzzles are of traditional sort, and there are lots of them - in fact too many for my taste. Taking that the game usually locks you up in 2-3 locations, the inventory-heavy gameplay gets frustrating at times, like in the 2nd chapter when Evan is running in circles doing 10+ fetch quests at once. By the time I received the key item I forgot who even asked me to bring it and why. And the further we move, the more linear and obscure it gets. There are also a bunch of logic puzzles and mini-games thrown in (mostly hitting-the-right-picture sort), none are too exciting. No surprises in the story department as well, everything is obvious from the start. What I found ironic though is that during the final segments the game that satirized propaganda turns into propaganda itself, gloryfying American special forces that bring peace all over the world. That's not how satire works, comrades, especially in 2019.

Time Played: 5-10 hours
Difficulty: Easy

Review of Forgotton Anne


Stars - 40

Rating by itseme posted on May 22, 2019


well, that was fun. i'd call it a story driven adventure, with a lot of platforming and a few puzzles. the controls (PS4 version) aren't the most precise, that could be pretty frustrating, if the platforming parts were harder. nice anime style and good soundtrack. interesting and creative world, the story itself isn't very surprising, but good enough to keep you playing, and some choices you make will alter the story a bit, so there's some replay value too. the length is okay. i honestly don't know how the adventuregamers reviewer finished it in 6 hours. an average of 8-10 hours would be more realistic.

Time Played: 5-10 hours
Difficulty: Easy

Review of The Little Acre


Stars - 35

Rating by itseme posted on May 20, 2019


lovely arts and animations, especially for a small indie title. characters, world and story have a lot of potential, but it feels a bit rushed and underdeveloped - hence the short playing time of under 3 hours. all in all recommended. the console and PC versions are overpriced though, either get the android/ios version or wait for a sale.

Time Played: 1-2 hours
Difficulty: Easy

Page 1 of 119  1 2 3 4 5 6 >  Last ›