• Reviews
  • Top Games
  • Search
  • New Releases
  • Daily Deals
  • Forums
continue reading below

Adventure Gamers - Forums

Welcome to Adventure Gamers. Please Sign In or Join Now to post.

You are here: HomeForum Home → Gaming → Adventure → Thread

Post Marker Legend:

• New Topic New posts
  • Old Topic No new posts

Currently online

kanaifuNelza

Support us, by purchasing through these affiliate links

A laid-back chat on a least important adventure game element - the graphics

Total Posts: 131

Joined 2014-04-11

PM

I agree that the new Broken Sword game has beautiful graphics. I think the developer recognized that they needed to get creative and find a way to make the 3D character animation not look like 3D (I’m no animation expert and don’t really understand the process they used here). While it doesn’t look as beautiful as the hand-drawn animation of earlier games in the series, it is pretty darn nice. Also, the hand-drawn backgrounds in the new game are stunning. Therefore, I put the game’s graphics in the “win” column.

As for poor Gabriel Knight and his rather unfortunate makeover, it seems like there was little effort made to give his new appearance any character.  It’s appalling, really.

And that’s a shame, especially when you consider the wonderful art from the original 1994 game. The original Sierra Gabriel Knight character 20 years ago was apparently somewhat modeled, looks and style wise, after James Dean. The apparent Dean-inspired style choices helped create the nonchalant, “bad boy” (but still sexy and loveable to women especially) persona of the character.