Gone Home

Game Info Player Reviews Screenshots Videos

Average Rating


Average based on 48 ratings



Your Rating:

add review

Rating by JohnS posted on Dec 23, 2015 | edit | delete


Worst game ever - no adventure or puzzles


We started this game thinking there was something interesting like puzzles or relevant game play involved. Well, there is not… do not play this game it is a massive waste of time (we were a family of 6 and very experienced in playing Nancy Drew games). This game has neither an interesting story (come home and sister is gone due to a boring love story) nor is there anything good to see or find in this game (you can turn cups around - the 3D engine is the only interesting part in this game). Imagine walking through the house of your average boring neighbor… now remove all the possible interesting parts - there you go this is gone home.


Time Played: 1-2 hours

Rating by GirlbrushThreepWood posted on Aug 31, 2013 | edit | delete


Gone Home


Just Finished Playing Gone Home In One sitting, Since adventure games are my favorite genre I thought i would check it out, I Thought i had the plot of the game figured out 2 or 3 Times but instead pleasantly to my surprise it took me in a few different directions then i was expecting ~ I Recommend This game


Time Played: 2-5 hours

Rating by Devilfish posted on Aug 25, 2013 | edit | delete


I cannot recommend this game highly enough. For fans of story-based exploration games and excellently paced character development, Gone Home is about as good a game as you’re ever going to get.



I started the game expecting to backtrack a lot, hunting for keys and codes as these games often have you do, but I never once had to resort to wandering and pixel-hunting. My journey through the house was a very smooth one, no backtracking, no frustration, no head scratchers. All clues and bits of story are in logical places and easily found if you search thoroughly. The focus really is on telling a story and telling it well, delving into the life and psyche of its characters, not on more traditional gameplay aspects. Gone Home gives you a sandbox to play in and explore at your own pace, and it doesn’t really require you to work hard to get to the end.



I expect the themes explored in the game will be familiar to anyone, but women and teens especially can look forward to a game that earnestly and respectfully explores those respective demographics in a way very, very few games do. (Minor theme spoiler: the game deserves all of the praise for exploring LGBT issues in a mature, respectful and heartfelt way.)



Unlike the reviewer I had absolutely no problems with the controls (using a mouse and keyboard). I never once struggled to perform the actions I wanted to perform.



The game is short, but it’s as long as it needs to be. Any more would have seemed like padding, any less would have been too little to truly tell its story.



Just an excellent little game. I highly recommend it.


Time Played: 1-2 hours

Rating by thorn969 posted on May 12, 2014 | edit | delete


Felt too small and linear


Given the reviews, I was expecting much more from this game. By the end, it felt more like a series of tasks I needed to complete to finish the game than fun. I found the story rather predictable and stereotypical and the world too small and annoyingly maze-like. The tapes were incredibly annoying and the voice-overs felt like cheating. The story should have been revealed purely by things discovered in the house, not voice-overs. And they seemed to have too much of the same items in each room and you couldn’t use them together or… I couldn’t find a game system to play the SNES games or anything to do with all the VHS tapes. I didn’t find it to feel like a real world or to be an engaging story.


Time Played: 2-5 hours

Rating by Emelie posted on Aug 26, 2013 | edit | delete


Rating by bucketface posted on Aug 31, 2013 | edit | delete


Rating by georgebs92 posted on Nov 1, 2013 | edit | delete


Rating by millenia posted on Dec 8, 2013 | edit | delete


Rating by certmcgurt posted on Jan 24, 2015 | edit | delete


Rating by Marco Rosenberg (KING Art Games) posted on Mar 25, 2015 | edit | delete


Page 1 of 5    1 2 3 >  Last ›

Where To Buy

Gone Home

Available on Humblebundle for

Get it DRM-free at

Available at

Affiliate Links