The Samaritan Paradox

Game Info Player Reviews Screenshots Videos

Average Rating


Average based on 24 ratings




Rating by Antrax posted on Jul 30, 2014 | edit | delete


Seriously flawed


The Samaritan Paradox starts on a relative high note. However, a terrible interface, poor scripting and some very contrived puzzles chip away at this misleading first impression until you reach the rushed, ridiculous ending.

From the demo, I expected a lot of code cracking. That was optimistic. Besides applying a simple substitution code, there aren’t really any more “code cracking” moments. There are some nice riddles to solve, but some ridiculous ones as well.
The game has frequent timed sections, rewinding upon failure. Often, they’re of the trial-and-error variety, i.e. you need to fail several times to even learn what obstacles you should anticipate after rewinding. Those sections are really bad, and feel a lot like padding. They’re poorly clued (you don’t always know what your ultimate goal is) and one of them features a double interface screw (an area of the screen is interactive despite not being shown as a hotspot, and you can control Ord during an animation, despite the cursor disappearing). In short, it feels like those sections were added because just featuring the good riddles would’ve made for an even shorter game.

The interface is atrocious. Every action requires multiple mouse clicks. This is actually used as some twisted puzzle mechanic at some point.
A good illustration of this issue is the dialogue mechanic. You have to scroll the list of topics (by clicking on arrows, not using the keyboard), then click on the topic of interest, then move the cursor over to the “ask” button. It’s not unplayable, but it’s just unwieldy, and after a while those small issues really get to you.
There is no hotspot highlighting, and there’s some pixel hunting. Ord is also a hotspot so after clicking on anything, he obscures the object and you have to click to make him move before you can interact with anything in the vicinity again.

The plot starts out strong but becomes silly in the end. All plot threads are abruptly tied together with a ridiculous twist and some off-screen narration promising us all has ended well. It’s difficult to describe just how jarring this is, it’s one of the worst pacing failures I’ve had the misfortune to encounter, and it really feels as though they just ran out of money and had to ship.

To summarize, a couple of good riddles can’t make up for the multitude of flaws. My advice would be to play this with a walkthrough for all but the riddle parts - then it’s worth the price of admission (about $2 currently).

Time Played: 2-5 hours

Rating by thorn969 posted on May 19, 2017 | edit | delete


Good puzzles and retro feel... short and could have improved characters


The puzzles were well integrated and generally made good sense… although sometimes I found myself clicking a bit just trying to figure out what to do next. With that, I had about 4 hours for one playthrough. I played a second time to get complete Steam achievements.

The story… I found a bit depressing… I enjoyed the fantasy setting and I thought the final ending to the fantasy setting worked very well and was cute… and it does complement the actual ending well. I guess it felt a little flat because I didn’t really feel that involved in or connected to the characters. They were a bit two dimensional, especially in the real world… I think if they had more personality and we had more opportunity for idle chit-chat demonstrating unique, quirky personalities… that’s what this game needed.

It is a kinda nice tribute to Broken Sword… although the story is kept more simple and plausible. But the parallel stories and twists and turns keep it plenty exciting.

Time Played: 5-10 hours
Difficulty: Easy

Rating by Khan4 posted on Aug 5, 2015 | edit | delete


Disturbed by the ending...


The game itself is very good, but the story falls short with the final revelation. Ok, why not a game about that. But not like that, not with that kind of game, I felt kind of cheated by the game, I would have liked another kind of ending, more in the line of the rest of the game.

Time Played: 5-10 hours

Rating by Pikafak posted on Jun 9, 2014 | edit | delete


A game definitly worth playing


Ok just finished playing this game. I have enjoyed the plot especially the parts where you change from reality into Bergwall’s fairy tale. I really liked the fact that the graphics of the game are retro seeing that the whole story takes place in the 80’s, and it sorta makes the whole thing more realistic in a way.

With regards music, i found it at times a bit too loud and it drowned the voices of the characters, so I just lowered its volume from the settings. No biggie.

At times I was not sure what I need to do next and got quite stuck and had to look up a walkthrough.Puzzles require a bit of head scratching and thinking things over and over, seeing they are mind games and not normal puzzles…. but on the whole, nothing impossible. Very engaging and enjoyable actually.

I recommend this game to any retro adventure game fan

Time Played: 5-10 hours
Difficulty: Hard

Rating by SamuelGordon posted on May 2, 2014 | edit | delete


Paradox indeed!


Good:
- Fun,logical puzzles except the four riddles ( I had to resort to puzzle “cracking” until i got the right answer and three out of the four answers did not make any sense!)
- Great locations (the trams moving in the background),voice acting and graphics.
- The fantasy book chapters is a really great idea: basically you have to finish a fantasy book chapter before you can progress in the story (e.g. defeat a dragon,etc) Also short but very fun.
- Profanity was limited and used in the right situations.
- Great notebook system
- Average game length

Bad:
- Terrible way how the story jumped! I got the impression the creator was stuck and completely went into a different direction. The ending was plain ridiculous! It ruined the game’s story for me and i felt cheated.
- When you “die”, you get “reloaded” and sometimes you need to repeat all your former moves (pick that up,etc). So it’s best you save as often as possible
- Disappointing villains, the biggest one has something to do with the jump the shark bit.
- You cannot decide how the story ends, you have no say in the moral choices, it’s all scripted (which is too bad, it could’ve easily been implemented).
- Rushed cliché confrontation, i’d like to see boss battles in my adventure games (you know, a la secret files).

Conclusion: i give it a 3,5 stars! I def recommend the game, the mood,the puzzles, the presentation of the game makes it worth it! Too bad about the story though.

Time Played: 5-10 hours
Difficulty: Just Right

Rating by SirVladimir posted on Jul 10, 2014 | edit | delete


Really good game


First,I must say that I really enjoyed playing this game although it have some flaws,but
first the good things.
Some of the puzzles are really great.Music is good and fits the mood perfectly. 2d pixel graphic adds to the atmosphere and gives strong nostalgic early 90’s feel.Story is gripping and holds you until the very end.
And ending is where I was disappointed. It’s not that it’s bad,but it feels quite rushed and leaves some questions unanswered.Too bad because if the developers worked on this a little bit more it could have been one of the best adventure games in 2014.
Some of the voice actors were annoying,but voice acting as a whole is solid.
Difference in graphic style between real and fantasy world could have been a little more distinguish,but that’s only my opinion though.

I think every adventure gamer should give The Samaritan Paradox a chance.It’s not a perfect game but you might end up enjoying it,just like I did.

P.S Sorry if you find some grammar mistakes,english is not my native language.

Time Played: 5-10 hours

Rating by Tara posted on May 23, 2014 | edit | delete


Rating by jfrisby posted on Jul 31, 2014 | edit | delete


Rating by tomimt posted on Aug 1, 2014 | edit | delete


Rating by Karlok posted on Mar 12, 2016 | edit | delete


Page 1 of 3    1 2 3 > 

Where To Buy

The Samaritan Paradox

Available on Bundlestars for

Get it DRM-free at

Affiliate Links