• Reviews
  • Top Games
  • Search
  • New Releases
  • Daily Deals
  • Forums
continue reading below

Adventure Gamers - Forums

Welcome to Adventure Gamers. Please Sign In or Join Now to post.

You are here: HomeForum Home → Gaming → Adventure → Thread

Post Marker Legend:

• New Topic New posts
  • Old Topic No new posts

Currently online

Keybordzshanethewolf

Support us, by purchasing through these affiliate links

My article on the impact of Sierra Online’s Adventures

Total Posts: 2

Joined 2021-08-20

PM

Hi,
My name is Raz and I’ve been an adventure gamer since I discovered Police Quest back in… 1990, I think. I am also an animation researcher, and recently an article by me about Sierra’s adventure games was published in the Animation academic journal. The article argues that Sierra’s place in history of gaming should be re-evaluated, not just as the maker of adventure games, but also for the contribution its adventure games made to the concept of animation all across the gaming field.
The article can be read here:
https://journals.sagepub.com/doi/pdf/10.1177/17468477211025665
I don’t think it’s too heavy on academic language, but I’m not the best judge on that. If you read it, I hope you’ll enjoy it, and I would welcome any comments.

Total Posts: 2454

Joined 2019-12-22

PM

Skimmed the article, seems like a good read.

I have have a weekend off (sort of), so this is going to be a welcome diversion.

Total Posts: 844

Joined 2021-03-01

PM

Hi Raz,

I’m reading and enjoying this. Came across this sentence, which I think might contain a typo. I’m having a hard time parsing it.

“When Sierra On-Line introduced animation to the adventure genre with King’s Quest, the game was already featured in most other genres of digital games.”

Maybe the word ‘game’ is meant to be ‘technology’?

Player, purveyor, and propagator of smart toys and games for all ages.
Facebook.com/weplayfaves
IG @weplayfaves

Total Posts: 181

Joined 2005-11-15

PM