You are viewing an archived version of the site which is no longer maintained.
Go to the current live site or the Adventure Gamers forums
Adventure Gamers

Home Adventure Forums Gaming Adventure First person view or third person view?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-21-2011, 07:27 AM   #1

Default First person view or third person view?

I don't know if anyone has posted a similar thread before in this forum,actually it's more like "what is the beauty in playing a first person adventure game" rather than a first person vs third person thread.

I recently started playing Scratches again and I do have a few other first person adventures to play...but I am new to this style and since I am a big fan of the third person view adventure games...I'd love to ask from the more experienced members and lovers of the first person style,to explain to me how they feel it is superior to the other games,what makes it so nice and which are,according to their opinion the biggest and best differences to other styles.

Ok I'm not stupid I know first person makes it kind of more personal,more realistic if you want,it does give a different atmosphere but I'm sure there's more to it for experienced players.

So...anyone wants to share their thoughts about this type of adventure games?
Old 03-21-2011, 02:59 PM   #2
man of low moral fiber

For me third person is always the best way to go...I don't know why, probably because you want to see how the protagonist looks like and reacts to situations
Old 03-21-2011, 03:37 PM   #3

i'll also go with third person view! Don't ask me why, it just feels better to me, maybe because I am a fan of Lucas Arts and Sierra (you know, back then when there were good times ). I don't say that 1st person is bad or anything ( I'm a fan of the Myst series), it's just that 3rd person rings some BIG memory bells!

Last edited by Geothing; 03-21-2011 at 05:09 PM.
Old 03-21-2011, 03:50 PM   #4
Replicant