• Reviews
  • Top Games
  • Search
  • New Releases
  • Daily Deals
  • Forums
continue reading below

Adventure Gamers - Forums

Welcome to Adventure Gamers. Please Sign In or Join Now to post.

You are here: HomeForum Home → Gaming → Adventure → Thread

Post Marker Legend:

• New Topic New posts
  • Old Topic No new posts

Currently online

Support us, by purchasing through these affiliate links

I want to make an adventure game but ....

Total Posts: 48

Joined 2013-04-25

PM

Is there an interest in purchasing an indie PC game with a Japanese style type of art and story?

So I’m still new to the adventure genre, and I’ve been around the forums to better understand it (it’s been a blast reading your responses to everything!).  But as you can see by my game history in my signature, I’ve had a bit of a learning curve about Sierra and traditional type adventure games that you all adore.  And I believe I’ve gotten the impression that only a certain percentage of you play Japanese AGs as majority of them are limited to handheld consoles.  It’s reflected in the top DS/3DS rankings.

Hence the question that has been bothering me for the longest time.  While I would love to make an adventure game, I would at least like to know if there is an audience for it?  It would sorta suck to put all the effort into making a quality game if the art style was one of the automatic factors that people here don’t have an interest.  I’m not sure if the lack of Japanese style AG at the indie level doesn’t exist because of lack of market or just cause not enough people have been trying it.