• Reviews
  • Top Games
  • Search
  • New Releases
  • Daily Deals
  • Forums
continue reading below

Adventure Gamers - Forums

Welcome to Adventure Gamers. Please Sign In or Join Now to post.

You are here: HomeForum Home → Gaming → Adventure → Thread

Post Marker Legend:

• New Topic New posts
  • Old Topic No new posts

Currently online

GabeGabriel

Support us, by purchasing through these affiliate links

Making my first adventure game using Ren’Py (House of Chavez)

Total Posts: 2

Joined 2023-10-25

PM

Hi everyone,
I am an indie developer, author of several visual novels and RPGs, and I am now making my first adventure game. I use Ren’Py, I know it’s a bit odd but it’s the tool I know better.

I am going to use first person view during the adventure gameplay, and visual novel “cutscenes” to tell the story.

I made some videos/GIF previews of the current work in progress:

interacting with environment

example of using object and cutscenes

I was wondering if you have any suggestions on what to implement in a psychological horror story, I have already a plot in mind, but about the adventure gameplay, I’m currently thinking of having some “sudden death” scenes (they happen if you don’t do things correctly). A bit like in some old adventure games I played many years ago.

I automatically save the game before such events, so players can click “try again” and they don’t lose too much time in case they die. Is this a good idea or could potentially frustrate players ?

For more info about the game check here: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/winterwolves/house-of-chavez

Total Posts: 142

Joined 2019-05-03

PM

Winterwolves - 25 October 2023 02:33 PM

I automatically save the game before such events, so players can click “try again” and they don’t lose too much time in case they die. Is this a good idea or could potentially frustrate players ?