You are viewing an archived version of the site which is no longer maintained.
Go to the current live site or the Adventure Gamers forums
Adventure Gamers

Home Adventure Forums Gaming Adventure New to Adventure need some recs

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-15-2010, 05:19 AM   #1

Default New to Adventure need some recs

Hi all I'm new to adventure games and am looking for recommendations of games. I was first introduced to adventure games a long time ago when I had a next door neighbor who was a connosieur so to speak. I remember playing The Dig and although I didn't get very far I absolutely loved it.... So now I basically thanks to steam am starting to play it again and so happy they re-released it. I love to play rpg's so obviously I love games with a good story and atmosphere I'm sure there are a million of these threads lol but I think it would be so much easier to find games based off my preferences. I don't really care too much for graphics or age so to speak as long as it's just a great game... I hope that you guys can help me find some wonderful adventure games because it has been a genre i have neglected over the years due to being afraid of wasting money on something I would not enjoy..... I bought the very first myst game and just could not get into it so I think that is what broke me from trying out other games..... Thanks for the help and I am looking forward to some wonderful discussions
Old 02-15-2010, 09:22 AM   #2

Since you didn't like Myst, I eliminated most first-person style adventure games from these lists. There's plenty more beyond this naturally, but here's a decent number to get you started, I'd look into the reviews available here to see if they sound like games you'll like beforehand anyway though.

1990s
Day of the Tentacle
Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis
Beneath a Steel Sky
Sam And Max Hit The Road
Full Throttle
Grim Fandango
The Secret of Monkey Island(has a remastered edition out now)
Monkey Island II: Lechuck's Revenge