You are viewing an archived version of the site which is no longer maintained.
Go to the current live site or the Adventure Gamers forums
Adventure Gamers

Home Adventure Forums Gaming Reader Reviews Another Runaway Review

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-18-2003, 04:36 PM   #1
Iconoclast

Default Another Runaway Review

This is my first attempt at a review. I'll probably screw it up.

Runaway: A Road Adventure

Story: 75%

The story of Runaway is decidedly average. I found myself neither liking nor disliking it. There were some rather interesting characters in it, but it felt a bit uninspired overall. I'm going to refrain on the details of the story so as not to ruin it for those who have yet to play it. There is a blurb on the game box anyway...

Graphics: 90%

The increased resolution of 1024x768 made a huge difference on the level of detail I was used to in adventure games. The backgrounds were very well drawn and crisp because of it. Character design was pretty good too. This was the closest anyone has come to creating that feeling of playing a cartoon visually. The anti-aliasing went a long way towards immersing the characters in the background. Normally, the jaggies make it oh so clear it is an overlay. The biggest negative is in the cut-scene videos. The compression really blurred out the details and caused a huge contrast compared to in-game graphics, and since the drawing wasn't really any better in the cut-scenes it detracted from the overall sense of quality.

Sound: 85%