You are viewing an archived version of the site which is no longer maintained.
Go to the current live site or the Adventure Gamers forums
Adventure Gamers

View Poll Results: What setting would you like in a new roguelike game?
Fantasy 1 9.09%
Science fiction 1 9.09%
Star wars 0 0%
Wasteland (Fallout, Mad Max...) 4 36.36%
Western 0 0%
Medieval 1 9.09%
Other (please explain) 1 9.09%
I don't play roguelikes/I don't care 3 27.27%
Voters: 11. You may not vote on this poll

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-24-2006, 09:38 AM   #1
Master of time and space

Default Roguelike game

I've been playing ADOM for a couple of months now and I have to confess that I'm hooked. I can't remember being this hooked to a RPG since Fallout 1 & 2. Recently some events spurred my interest into writing my own roguelike game, but I haven't decided on the setting yet. That's where you come in, I'd like some opinions and tips if you have any. I'm thinking about writing it in Java due to the portability, but I might consider C++ as well if someone can give me a good reason not to write in Java. I'm currently brainstorming about everything from a project site to future quests. My vision is a game more epic than traditional roguelikes, feature sound and maybe even music. I hope this poll will help me decide a setting for the game, while I write a GUI and other necessary standard parts. I'm not sure where this project will go or if I'm ever going to finish it, since time is scarce and other obligations keeps distracting me. Hopefully I'll have something along a version 0.1 ready by summer.

If you haven't tried a rougelike game, then I'd say that you're missing out on some really good entertainment!
Also they tend to be really difficult. Expect to die around 50 times before you get the hang of it. They're like good wine, they get better with age.

Edit: Oops! Nasty spelling error (Admin, please correct the topic and poll spellings)

Last edited by MdaG; 01-24-2006 at 10:39 AM.