You are viewing an archived version of the site which is no longer maintained.
Go to the current live site or the Adventure Gamers forums
Adventure Gamers

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-05-2007, 06:45 AM   #1

Default Open source adventure project

Hi all,

I've been a fan of adventure games since the first time I played one, the first Broken Sword. Also I’m a programmer and I have been making amateur games for many years, recently I decided to start an adventure game project in my spare time.

The game is currently untitled and has only small draft of story. The game would have a mystic/conspiracy feel to it like: Broken Sword series, Gabriel Knight series, Angels and Demons (book), The Da Vinci code, The Ninth Gate (book/movie).

Player will be a graduate of archeological college, and is set of to his first field work in some exotic (location undecided jet) excavation site to assist and learn from an older acclaimed archeology expert/professor/doctor, you arrive late at night and only get a quick chance to meet the professor who was very excited about today discoveries, and then you go to sleep in your tent. The weird noises coming from the professors tent wake you up in the in the middle of the night, like he was moving something big, but you fall to sleep before you can check what is happening.
The morning after you are woken up by professor, with the assignment for you, but nothing you hoped for, he said that they had problem with communications, probably because of low battery/accumulator, and he asked you to go to town and pick a new one up since everyone else have they jobs and the regular driver is laying in some ditch drunk. You were very frustrated and said something like, “I’ve been going 5 years to college just to be a delivery boy” in low voice, but you did the assignment any way.