You are viewing an archived version of the site which is no longer maintained.
Go to the current live site or the Adventure Gamers forums
Adventure Gamers

Home Adventure Forums Gaming Adventure Adventure games in retail outlets

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-17-2008, 01:26 AM   #1

Default Adventure games in retail outlets

Hi all! I'm a very long time, at least a couple of years, lurker of AG. Thought it was about time i stuck my head out of the bushes and said hello and started a meaniningful discussion!

I work in the retail side of the game industry in Australia and i was wondering if the state of adventure games from a retail point of view is the same else where in the world? In Australia it's like trying to locate a needle in the vaccum of a black hole...

So yeah, hello all and i hope you will welcome me into your fold!
Old 12-17-2008, 03:31 AM   #2
Super Moderator

Welcome to AG mohok! Glad you decided to join us.

There are adventure games in retail stores here in the US. But they are paltry compared to other genres. I have found them in GameStop, Walmart, electronics stores (when I lived in California, Fry's had the biggest selection I've ever seen).
Old 12-17-2008, 04:42 AM   #3
Spoonbeaks say Ahoy!

In Poland there are lots of adventure games in retail stores, although other genres dominate over them to be sure. We also seem to get the adventure games usually quicker than the US. For example, So Blonde and Nostradamus are available here for a long time already (not to mention translated to Polish). On the other hand, Outrcry (which I'm impatiantly waiting for) is being constantly delayed for some reason.

Last edited by Ascovel; 12-17-2008 at 08:20 AM.
Old 12-17-2008, 05:06 AM   #4
Dread Pirate