You are viewing an archived version of the site which is no longer maintained.
Go to the current live site or the Adventure Gamers forums

Home Adventure Forums Gaming Hint Requests and Technical Problems King's Quest 5: I can't save my game!

LinkBack Thread Tools
07-18-2010, 11:44 PM   #1

King's Quest 5: I can't save my game!

Please Help!

The FACTS:

I am trying to run King Quest 5: Absence Makes the Heart Go Yonder!
I am using the version included in my copy of King's Quest Collection (2006)
I am using a HP laptop which utilizes Windows Vista (32 bit)
I have no prior experience using DOS BOX

The ISSUE:

When I tried to save my KQ 5 game, I received the error: "This directory/disk can hold no more saved games. You must replace one of your saved games or use Change Directory to save on a different directory/disk."

Of course, I have no saved KQ 5 games.

So, the first thing I did was to google the issue and look for answers. I quickly found myself on the Sierra Help page (http://www.sierrahelp.com/Games/King...tml#RestoreBug) which suggested that I run the game directly through DOS BOX and command the game to open using "sierra cresource.cfg"

Of course, that didn't work. I tried various, combinations of that command and tried using the help for DOS BOX to further explore "mounting", but I am not very savvy in this area and my efforts fell short.

So, I did some further googling and found that there is a suggested patch for King's Quest Collection on the very same Sierra Help page. So, thinking it might help my problem, I uninstalled King's Quest Collection to remove it from "Program Files" as suggested my the site.

I then reinstalled, KQC under "CSierra\"

Then, I downloaded the patch from the link on the Sierra Help site. After fighting Norton a bit to let me download the patch, I finally got it! Yay!

So, I run the patch, making sure to direct it to "CSierra\King's Quest Collection\"