You are viewing an archived version of the site which is no longer maintained.
Go to the current live site or the Adventure Gamers forums
Adventure Gamers

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-09-2010, 05:03 PM   #1

Default Depressed

I'm 49. I've been playing adventure games for approximately 30 years. I started with Zork I: The Great Underground Empire. I hated the intrusion of pictures to my favorite gaming genre, at first. Then came The Secret of Monkey Island, and I loved it, almost grudgingly.A few years later came Myst, which I felt like a physical assault. For my tastes, the genre was forever degraded from that moment. Now we have FMV games and “hidden object” games and I'm now too afraid to buy any new titles.

Please, reviewers, add tags to your reviews."WARNING: Contains 'hidden object' elements" would be perfect.

I really don't want to waste any more money.
Old 03-09-2010, 05:20 PM   #2

I suppose it might be nice if the tag were there to see at-a-glance (although only very few of the games on here are in the Hidden Object genre), but the reviews themselves make it quite apparent if such elements are there.
Old 03-09-2010, 05:29 PM   #3

I only agree with you on hidden object games. Companies now want less budget and fast return, and hidden object games are the way to go. But FMV games have been with us for a long long time, started with 7Th Guest and Return to Zork, and this day and age they are very rare and are no longer popular.

Even though there are/were lots of Myst style games on the market, they only made up part of the adventure genre. The rest still fills with 3rd style point-n-click games, so you still have a lot to choose from...
Old 03-09-2010, 09:57 PM   #4

@Luther10 & @seanparkerfilms:

You are both right, of course, as I realized after perusing this site more carefully. I think I'd confused it with that horrid justadventure.com (my apologies to any fans).