You are viewing an archived version of the site which is no longer maintained.
Go to the current live site or the Adventure Gamers forums
Adventure Gamers

Home Adventure Forums Gaming Adventure Adventure Game Identification Syndrome

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-14-2008, 02:11 PM   #1
Musenik

Default Adventure Game Identification Syndrome

Developer: "Well, Doctor, it's like this. I've been working on a new game, but I'm torn over it."

Dr.: "Literally or Metaphorically?"

Developer: "It's fairly literary, something like Jonathan Swift crossed with Sinclair Lewis, but with high school girls."

Dr.: "Why did you bring your problem to me? I'm a doctor of philosophy."

Developer: "I don't know if it's an adventure game, a casual game, or even an RPG!!"

Dr.: "You do need professional help. Take this problem to the ADVENTURE GAMERS forum, and call me in the morning!"

So, here I am, asking the folks here to help identify the subject of my distress. Here's why I think my company's new game could be an adventure game.

1. There is a world to explore and people to meet. (1920s. small town, USA)
2. There is a 20-hour branching narrative, and you can interact with it via branching dialogs with the people you meet. (high school girls discover something's very wrong in their hometown)
3. You can collect items and use them to help the game progress and solve problems.

HOWEVER, it is also very much a casual game...

1. Mostly when you meet people, confrontations arise, which you resolve with 1 minute mini-games. (Taunt, Fib, Flirt, Expose Secrets...) The first branching dialog doesn't occur until the end of the tutorial, but afterwards they are more frequent.
2. The main way you collect items is by winning them with these games. But there are other ways to collect items.

ALSO, it has elements of an RPG...

1. You recruit a gang of girls to your 'party'.
2. Girls have four 'talents' which improve with gameplay. Each mini-game is based upon at least one of the talents.