You are viewing an archived version of the site which is no longer maintained.
Go to the current live site or the Adventure Gamers forums
Adventure Gamers

Home Adventure Forums Gaming Adventure Adventure puzzle/barrier you enjoyed solving?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-24-2007, 09:49 AM   #1

Default Adventure puzzle/barrier you enjoyed solving?

Hello party-people!
I love adventure-games, mostly the story and stuff, but as I'm making my own adventure-game (as a professional) now for the first time I'm having really easy writing the story but now I need to insert some barriers and puzzels into it which I've never done before so a good starting point is to think of my favorite puzzles in my favorite adventure-games to learn from them.
But I just realized, I can't think of any adventure-game-puzzels I actually enjoyed.
I can only remember loving when making progress (especially if good story like Grim Fandango) but I can never remember really likeing the puzzel and challenge (like say I would in a well-done action game where it's like "bring it on, bitch!" where the challenge might even be more fun than the reward).

So recently I replayed Grim Fandango (my most favorite game) and have disected every puzzel onto a document so I can learn from them, but the more I write down about a puzzel, the more I realize how boring most puzzles are and how little sense they make.

So my question is, what are your favorite adventure-problems that you actually enjoyed solving (rather than "aah shit, the key broke now I have to fix it somehow, why oh why..")?

PS: when I say puzzels, I just mean anything in an adventure-game that you need to solve.
Old 09-24-2007, 10:14 AM   #2
female animal lover

Send a message via MSN to Panthera