Adventure Forums

Adventure Forums (https://adventuregamers.com/archive/forums/)
-   Chit Chat (https://adventuregamers.com/archive/forums/chit-chat/)
-   -   Graphics Tablets (https://adventuregamers.com/archive/forums/chit-chat/24289-graphics-tablets.html)

UPtimist 03-21-2009 04:11 AM

Graphics Tablets

So, I've been thinking about getting a tablet for... Well, years. Never got to it, though. Well, I'm at it again and I'm wondering, as I'm sure there are people here who have much experience with them, if you have any suggestions or advice regarding them? I have no experience with a tablet, and I'm on a budget.

First of all, is it hard to learn to use a tablet, and should I try it out somewhere first? Also, where do you think the line goes at what price the tablets are just not worth it? Are there any cheap ones that would be good and any ones that have excellent price-quality ratio? And what about the size? (And won't somebody think of the children?!)

And so on, any kind of advice is much appreciated :)

Wacom is the best, isn't it?

Ninja Dodo 03-21-2009 06:34 AM

Wacom is the only tablet.

The type you want depends on your needs. If you can get a second hand Graphire3 those are cheap but good, but avoid the Graphire4 line as they made some bad choices with materials causing the grip on the pen to wear really fast. The Bamboo Fun seems to have replaced the consumer-oriented Graphires and from what I understand is pleasant to use and adequate for most purposes...

Towards the pro end there is Intuos or Cintiq. Intuos are tablets like the others but with higher precision, customizable buttons and tilt sensitivity. Cintiq is a tablet screen. Some artists swear by them but they are really expensive.