View Single Post
Old 04-26-2010, 04:52 PM   #17
Sughly

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Ince View Post
Even in the wider gaming world things are tough. Only the other day Sega announced it was laying off 80 staff. Companies are closing or seriously down-sizing with frightening regularity.

Having said that, however, we've seen some encouraging signs in the last year that the adventure genre can take encouragement from, so let's hope it continues.
Sorry if this is going off topic in a way, but I really agree with this and wanted to elaborate.

I think the Sega news was very depressing indeed, and although it's very well just an excuse to downsize, the leading reason was one of focussing on digital distribution. Now I'm no expert and haven't dealt in the industry myself at all (yet! ~hopefully), but it does seem from research that I've done recently that digital distribution is huge, and it's easy to see with portals like Steam, it's undeniable. And at the moment, games like Machinarium are capitalising on that with it's well positioned pricing, and I think this is what Steve might be referring to in terms of seeing some recent successes.

I've found an overwhelmingly positive reaction to the game, in all kinds of forums and mainstream gaming websites. Is it 3D? No. It is in my opinion utilising it's position as a low budget indie developer and making the most of what it can produce. And the results are pitting it up against some of the best, with Academy of Interactive Arts and Sciences nominating them for an interactive achievement award nomination in art direction against assassin’s creed 2, modern warfare 2, resident evil 5, and uncharted 2. Of course also winning out the excellence in visual art award at the 11th igf awards, on an independent level, but seriously - a game made by 7 people, selling for what, 15 pounds, is in the same catagory artistically as these titles with budgets way beyond theirs.