View Single Post
Old 09-07-2008, 01:14 PM   #391
jalind

Default Star Trek (text version) -- on a mainframe console

This digs back quite a few years and had to think back along the timeline of every type of computer I'd ever used . . . so I'll list a few classics along a timeline . . . which will undoubtedly date me as an Old-Timer.

Don't know if the "original" text version of Star Trek on a mainframe remote console counts, but it is the first computer game I ever played . . . dating to about 1972 or 1973 when I was an undergrad at Arizona State U. . . on a UNIVAC 1100 series or a GE 400 series (before GE sold off its mainframe business to Honeywell). ASU had both and don't remember which one ran Star Trek. Had to be very careful about computer time-share usage! That was a very precious commodity and was closely budgeted. I've no doubt quite a few time-share minutes got burned up with students playing it . . . to the consternation of the folks operating the university mainframe resources. If you're not familiar with the original Star Trek and its pure ASCII text graphics, see this Wikipedia article:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Star_Trek_(text_game)

The next one was a couple attempts at "Adventure" (aka Colossal Cave Adventure) when it was ported to a Tandy Color Computer (in BASIC ??); some time around 1984 even though it dates back to the late 1970s. Never did finish it. The pure text dialog was too arduous for me. About 1987-1988 I also had Leisure Suit Larry in the Land of the Lounge Lizards . . . running on a PC-AT clone with CGA graphics. Hilarious and fun a few time through . . . but got "stale" after a while.