View Single Post
Old 09-25-2007, 07:10 PM   #1
andii

Default The Longest Journey was the last straw *Spoiler Warning*.

*Warning* This post talks about specific parts of The Longest Journey hence spoilers.

This issue has been brooding in me for some time and I really feel like I need to get it out there. And here it is...

I am completely sick of adventure games and The Longest Journey was the last straw. There I said it.

First thing first. I was delighted to find TLJ on steam, I had been hanging to play it for a few years and had been looking for a copy. Steam just made getting it so easy. TJL started off well. The prologue sequence was magnificent, the city was stunning, April looked like a fun character. But the game so quickly deteriorated and has almost completely destroyed my faith in the whole genre. Here is why. TLJ turned into try everything on everything, it just felt like doing a jigsaw puzzle face down. It may not be fair to single out TLJ it was just the most recent of a series of disappointments that included Sam and Max, Grim Fandango, Broken Sword, Syberia and Still Life. All these are generally considered the of the best of the genre. And if this is the best the genre can do, then I agree with the mainstream media saying adventure gaming is dead. I'm sorry about this post sounding like flame bait, I dont mean it to. As I said this is something that has been bugging me for a while.