Thread: Religion.
View Single Post
Old 04-16-2005, 07:20 AM   #13
Sage
Bad Influence

Send a message via Yahoo to Sage

Brilliant quote, Jazhara. Unfortunately, people keep trying to mess with my plate. Example:
Many years ago I worked as a bartender and shared a house with three other guys. I would usually get home at around three am, and since my housemates all had more-or-less normal 9-to-5 jobs, I was the only person at home during the day.
Somehow, our house became a target-household for the local coven (?) of Jehovah's Witnesses.
Around 9 am every day, the doorbell would ring. My rooms were above the front porch, so seeing who was at the door involved finding pants and a shirt, and going from my bedroom down the upstairs hall, down the stairs, through the kitchen, through the dining room, and through the living room to the front door.
I started off by telling the JWs politely that I was not interested, and that I worked nights and slept during the day, and asking them not to ring my doorbell before 5 pm. They apologized for waking me, and left.
The next day at 9 am, the doorbell rang. Same scenario, different JWs. I was less polite this time.
I put a flourescent "Day Sleeper-Do Not Disturb" sign in the front window. Next day, same scenario, different JWs.
A friend of mine, upon hearing of my sleep deprived plight, told me that if you told JWs that you were Jewish they'd leave you alone. I tried this once, and it didn't work. Next day, same scenario, different JWs.
At this point, I had given up all pretence of politeness and would just say "I'm not interested!" and slam the door in their faces. Each day, same scenario, different JWs.