Thread: Communal Diary
View Single Post
Old 04-03-2005, 06:50 PM   #77
Terabin
Tell me This is It

Send a message via AIM to Terabin

Dear Communal Diary (It's been a while since we used you last!),

I'm stuck in classes that require me to write papers for a grade and I cannot write papers for the life of me. The last paper I wrote took me all week of sitting in front of a computer screen to crap out five pages. I did nothing else during that week but stare at the empty Microsoft Word document. I've been told by others that I'm a decent writer, but I find that I am not creative in the least bit. I could always paint a photograph, imitate someone's vibrato, and analyze the hell out any film, frame by frame, but I cannot cannot cannot come up with a decent short story that doesn't end up reminding me of everything I've read for the past six months. I could not take a decent photograph unless I had a brilliant sunset with clouds perfect for reflecting the sun's various hues, while at the North Rim of the Grand Canyon, and if I had five rolls of film to snap a pan of the whole scene from various angles. Then I might get a couple nice photographs, but I would consider them trash because sunsets are cliche.