• Log In | Sign Up

  • News
  • Reviews
  • Games Database
  • Game Discovery
  • Search
  • New Releases
  • Forums

Reader reviews for Thimbleweed Park

Adventure Gamers Reader reviews, read what other adventure gamers think of Thimbleweed Park.

Average Reader Rating for Thimbleweed Park


Average based on 43 ratings

Your Rating:

add review

Latest reader reviews


Stars - 10

Rating by Lizard of Oz posted on Sep 10, 2019 | edit | delete


I could have known before that it was not for me.


Allow me to point out that I do like the absurd, the quirky and whimsical, and the last adventure game I thoroughly enjoyed was Resonance.

A friend who backed Thimbleweed Park recommended it to me as one of the greatest games ever made, so I decided to check it out.

I liked the pixel arts, but the chaotic gameplay, the muddled story and the complete relatable characters led me uninstall the game after a couple of hours.

Maybe the ambition to be funny (in a teenage movie kind of way) gets in the way of telling a meaningful story, and I found the characters annoying, one-dimensional and boring.

I’m not a fan of Monkey Island and the cult around Lucas Arts games (the only one I could ever be bothered to finish was The Dig), so having dialog options about them did not add to the game for me.

What really gets me is that I could have known all this before. It was in the reviews. It was clear from the way the game was described on GOG. I decided to ignore this, because I wanted to like it. My own fault entirely. I could have read the sings.


Read the review »

Time Played: 5-10 hours

Stars - 40

Rating by mrprince posted on May 1, 2019 | edit | delete


Stars - 45

Rating by pylke posted on Mar 9, 2019 | edit | delete


Stars - 50

Rating by Johnnie Walker posted on Mar 16, 2018 | edit | delete


Stars - 40

Rating by victortoise posted on Mar 1, 2018 | edit | delete


Stars - 40

Rating by Secanho posted on Nov 5, 2017 | edit | delete


Stars - 25

Rating by SamuelGordon posted on Aug 5, 2017 | edit | delete


Started great but ruined by a chaotic storyline and meta shenanigans


Spoilers ahead!

Good:
- Great graphics, i’m a sucker for pixels.
- Great voiceacting
- Retro text option!
- Love the “normal/hard” choice!
- Some fun eastereggs for the more veteran adventure players

Bad :
- You could solve puzzles and acquire items that you don’t need at that point in the story which creates a chaotic gameplay. Also the check list is a really bad help tool when you are stuck in the game as some quests can only be done in a different chapter or end of the game (e.g: dad’s redemption, fingerprint chuck,etc..). Also some illogical puzzles and bugs.

- The dialog options are sometimes over the top. I always cringed when they talked about adventure games/Lucasarts.

- What’s up with the story? I had the impression the murder story didn’t pan out so they went all matrix which failed horribly! I mean they could’ve implented it much better in the story, but instead it made every chapter pretty much pointless.

- Terrible locations. All dead. The music doesn’t help either. The map you use to travel around is horribly made, it looks like it was made in MS Paint.  Oh yes, they used the empty dead locations as part of the storyline..yeah right, they probably ran out of money/time.

- Uninteresting characters. Everyone in town was so bland.  The playable characters too except maybe Ransome and Delores.

Conclusion : The story really bombed. The puzzles are decent. The characters are boring. It is still worth it? No, i say skip it and go play Monkey Island 2.

 

 


Read the review »

Time Played: 5-10 hours
Difficulty: Just Right

Stars - 45

Rating by Bernhardinski posted on Jun 21, 2017 | edit | delete


Stars - 45

Rating by no-cheating posted on May 18, 2017 | edit | delete


Stars - 45

Rating by My Dune posted on May 10, 2017 | edit | delete


That was about 15 hours of pure enjoyment


That was about 15 hours of pure enjoyment and I can’t agree more with the written review by Ivo.

I really hope another story will be told because this team did an amazing job! Personally I hope the earnings of this game will be used to make even a better one and despite I like pixel art….when the funding is there…..I’d love to see it in a better graphical version.


Read the review »

Time Played: 10-20 hours
Difficulty: Just Right

Page 1 of 5    1 2 3 >  Last ›