• Log In | Sign Up

  • News
  • Reviews
  • Games Database
  • Game Discovery
  • Search
  • New Releases
  • Forums

Reader reviews for The Vanishing of Ethan Carter

Adventure Gamers Reader reviews, read what other adventure gamers think of The Vanishing of Ethan Carter.

Average Reader Rating for The Vanishing of Ethan Carter


Average based on 20 ratings

Your Rating:

add review

Latest reader reviews


Stars - 20

Rating by smulan posted on Oct 18, 2019 | edit | delete


Not very funny


Figuring out how the interface is supposed to work and placing events in the right order are not very funny despite gorgeous graphics.


Read the review »

Time Played: 5-10 hours
Difficulty: Just Right

Stars - 35

Rating by desillusion84 posted on Jan 12, 2018 | edit | delete


Stars - 30

Rating by michaljerzy posted on May 3, 2017 | edit | delete


Stars - 40

Rating by mill posted on Nov 27, 2016 | edit | delete


Stars - 35

Rating by Karlok posted on Mar 12, 2016 | edit | delete


Stars - 45

Rating by cygma posted on Mar 22, 2015 | edit | delete


Stars - 50

Rating by Randal Graves posted on Jan 28, 2015 | edit | delete


Stars - 30

Rating by furgotten posted on Jan 2, 2015 | edit | delete


Stars - 35

Rating by SamuelGordon posted on Nov 6, 2014 | edit | delete


The dead do lie


Good:

- The free roam is excellent
- Great atmosphere, creepy houses,occult rituals,caves,etc
- Graphics are nice (could be better though)
- Great music

Bad :

- Ending ruins the story, i’ve seen this type of story done a thousand times and i was hoping they wouldn’ go into this direction.
- Too short
- No “much needed tutorial” , at the beginning you don’t even know what you have to do (the touch the body thing).
- Bad voice acting
- No puzzles to speak of, the only puzzle worth mentioning is the portal one.


Conclusion : You def give this game a shot, it’s short but worth it.


Read the review »

Time Played: 2-5 hours

Stars - 50

Rating by charmer posted on Oct 20, 2014 | edit | delete


The game has been patched a couple of times


The game itself might not have been perfect at release, especially the save system, but the patches released shortly afterwards took care of that and several other glitches.

The game experience is unique and rewarding for those who pay attention. There is a handful of key locations and scenes in the open world that give away tidbids of the story. Some are associated with a puzzle, some are not. The game is quite minimalistic in game mechanics but the gorgeous environment and music make up for that aplenty.

On the other hand, you might get stuck a couple of times as it is not always apparent what to do next. I take that as a positive though. I knew in advance the game is of the short variety so I didn’t take the speedrun approach and explored the heck out of the beautiful photogrammetrized world. When I finally got stuck towards the end, I had already spent over 5 hours in the game.

The originality of the authors to take the FP engine, normally associated with mindless action, and merge it with adventure elements and a genuine mystery plot, must be commended. I agree with the authors that this is the future of gaming, or at least one of them.

Bottomline, with the patches available now, I recommend The Vanishing of Ethan Carter to any player willing to try something new.


Read the review »

Time Played: 5-10 hours
Difficulty: Just Right

Page 1 of 2    1 2 >