• Log In | Sign Up

  • News
  • Reviews
  • Games Database
  • Game Discovery
  • Search
  • New Releases
  • Forums

Reader reviews for Broken Sword 5: The Serpent’s Curse page 4

Adventure Gamers Reader reviews, read what other adventure gamers think of Broken Sword 5: The Serpent’s Curse.

Average Reader Rating for Broken Sword 5: The Serpent’s Curse


Average based on 53 ratings

Your Rating:

add review

Latest reader reviews


Stars - 40

Rating by sanderman posted on Dec 15, 2013 | edit | delete


Stars - 20

Rating by supaplex posted on Dec 14, 2013 | edit | delete


Stars - 25

Rating by jopps posted on Dec 13, 2013 | edit | delete


Stars - 30

Rating by Gabe posted on Dec 11, 2013 | edit | delete


Stars - 35

Rating by markodon posted on Dec 8, 2013 | edit | delete


Stars - 45

Rating by Niclas posted on Dec 5, 2013 | edit | delete


Lovely old school feeling


What a great new instalment in the BS franchise.
Revolution have really captured what was great with the first BS games. Everything from the music, story, graphics style, funny characters, sound effects, and “logic” puzzles. It was like seeing an old friend again seeing George and Nico on the screen. I’m not giving it a full score, like I did with BS1, the reason for that is is simple. It is pretty hard to live up that first game.

The puzzles are overall pretty good, but there are one or two puzzles in the game that does not really fit the BS vibe. I actually did not mind the already infamous cockroach puzzle, but I was more disappointed with the puzzle where George has to dress up like Henri to fool his drunk widow to get a certain object. The puzzle itself was pretty ok, but it did not really fit into the BS universe, it was just a little bit too comical.  There is also one puzzle that requires interaction with a character that George met in BS1. That character feels very out of place and too random to appear in that certain location to be believable. Pure fan service done wrong, but no biggie that will ruin the game. Also some puzzles get a little bit too easy, since all objects required for the problem solving can be collected in the same scene. This approach is more “realistic”, but it can make the game a little bit too easy if no back tracking is required.

On my first play though I managed to finish the game in one sitting. It took me around 6 to 7 hours. I just recently did a second play through, and it took me a little bit over 3 hours to complete it when knowing exactly which dialog lines to use and how to solve every puzzle. Pretty decent length for the first episode. 

Other then a few minor issues with puzzle design,  this is an EXCELLENT addition to the Broken Sword universe. A must play.

NOTE after playing episode 2.

Episode 2 has some much more complex and interesting puzzles, that are well integrated in the environment and the story. The story is also much stronger than Episode 1. There is only one puzzle I could I have lived without , and that is the music based puzzles. (this puzzle also feels a little bit out of place, similar to the dress up puzzle in Ep 1) I used a walk through for that since I just find it boring and time consuming. Overall Ep 2 is true to the BS universe, and I loved almost every bit of it.

Episode 1: 4 out of 5
Episode 2: 4.5 out of 5


Read the review »

Time Played: 10-20 hours
Difficulty: Just Right

Stars - 45

Rating by Onion Guy posted on Aug 11, 2014 | edit | delete


Stars - 50

Rating by DomStLeger posted on Oct 31, 2014 | edit | delete


Stars - 50

Rating by Anjelita posted on Jul 4, 2017 | edit | delete


Stars - 30

Rating by trstmp posted on Mar 26, 2019 | edit | delete


Page 4 of 6   ‹ First  < 2 3 4 5 6 >