Reader reviews for Dear Esther

Adventure Gamers Reader reviews, read what other adventure gamers think of Dear Esther.

Average Reader Rating for Dear Esther


Average based on 16 ratings

Your Rating:

add review

Latest reader reviews


Stars - 10

Rating by Stevens R. Miller posted on Sep 13, 2019 | edit | delete


Nothing happens. At all. Ever.


The lowest score you can give at “Adventure Gamers” is 0.5 stars. I’m giving this one 1.0 stars because it has great imagery. Lots of it. Endless metric tonnes of it.

And that’s all.

You wander, wander, and wander some more. Nothing happens. There are no puzzles and you can’t interact with anything in a meaningful way. You do hear some letters read aloud.

Now, this appears to be exactly what a lot of people want, as “Dear Esther” has been quite a commercial and critical success. That worries me. The sort of person I imagine liking this non-game appears in my imagination as depressed, lonely, possibly even suicidal. Is that really what gamers are like? I hope not. I don’t see myself that way, but I didn’t like “Dear Esther,” so I must not be typical.

There has been endless debate about whether or not this is even a game. I won’t go there. But I will say whatever else it is or isn’t, it’s not an “adventure” game. In those games, something happens. In this, nothing happens.

Where’s the adventure in that?


Read the review »

Time Played: 1-2 hours
Difficulty: Very Easy

Stars - 30

Rating by TheOldSF posted on Feb 28, 2019 | edit | delete


Stars - 30

Rating by Arreanore posted on Jul 15, 2017 | edit | delete


Stars - 45

Rating by aseonov posted on Feb 23, 2015 | edit | delete


Stars - 35

Rating by thorn969 posted on Jul 10, 2014 | edit | delete


Beautiful huge world... great concept


I’m not sure how to feel about this. It’s not really a game. There’s no challenge. The plot is minimal and never totally clear or explained.

But it is impressive. The graphics are average for modern 3D adventure games, pretty, but somewhat blocky. But you have free movement over a large environment with lots of trails going every which way. I never had to backtrack on my first playthrough and I think it is set up to minimize backtracking. It feels like a real park that you can walk around freely. And not a dreamscape… the scale seems… realistic. Geography is believable. The pathing is amazing. And it is a lush world. A lot of parks I’ve been to have these trails that seem to go to nowhere, but they all circle back and connect with one another, ending at the same places. And my impression was the game does the same thing. It is very well executed.

However, it feels like a proof of concept. Like the whole game is just made to show the ability of the developers and their ability to build a world. An experiment in open, but linear gameplay. It doesn’t have any interactive elements. It doesn’t really make any attempt to involve you in the story. It’s very short and somewhat boring. It’s an impressive feat and I’d love to see how it gets applied to making a game. I’m sure this took a lot of work, but it seems like… demo of a mechanic. I hope the developers keep working on new games and make something with puzzles, better plot, more artwork, and perhaps character development.


Read the review »

Time Played: 1-2 hours

Stars - 50

Rating by Halldor posted on Mar 17, 2014 | edit | delete


Stars - 15

Rating by Antrax posted on Dec 28, 2013 | edit | delete


Boring


Not much to complain about as I knew what I was getting into.
The game is technically excellent but it’s just boring. Walking speed is way too slow, which discourages exploration as you often dread having to slowly trudge all the way back.
The game has a lot of replay value, in that the second play-through won’t be much more boring than the first. That being said, I still opted to stop at one.


Read the review »

Time Played: 1-2 hours
Difficulty: Very Easy

Stars - 20

Rating by maladroid posted on Dec 7, 2013 | edit | delete


Stars - 30

Rating by troninho posted on Nov 25, 2013 | edit | delete


Stars - 20

Rating by Dale posted on Oct 14, 2013 | edit | delete


Page 1 of 2    1 2 >