• Log In | Sign Up

  • News
  • Reviews
  • Games Database
  • Game Discovery
  • Search
  • New Releases
  • Forums
continue reading below

Reader reviews for Jolly Rover

Adventure Gamers Reader reviews, read what other adventure gamers think of Jolly Rover.

Average Reader Rating for Jolly Rover


Average based on 11 ratings

Your Rating:

add review

Latest reader reviews


Stars - 40

Rating by shanethewolf posted on Apr 22, 2021 | edit | delete


Monkey Island wannabe that's surprisingly fun and witty


There is no doubt that Jolly Rover took inspiration from the classic Monkey Island series, but what looks like a low budget rip off at first glance, turns out to be a very immersive and witty adventure game that comes into its own.

Jolly Rover doesn’t try to reinvent the genre or break any new ground, but the result is a classic style point and click adventure, just like those from the good ole days. Unlike many modern adventures, players are not overwhelmed with endless dialogue and exposition, and what dialogue there is tends to be relevant and/or funny.

The graphics are nicely painted (though a bit too crisp and clean perhaps) and there are plenty of varied environments to explore.

The puzzles vary from easy to challenging, but there is a tip system in place for those who get stuck. It can be a bit too tempting to use this on regular occasions, even though it is generally unimposing. Many of the puzzles are fun to solve.

Although it may appear a little on the short side, players get their money’s worth.

On the whole, Jolly Rover is a fun adventure game for fans of the genre.


Read the review »

Time Played: 2-5 hours
Difficulty: Just Right

Stars - 40

Rating by Blomard posted on Sep 13, 2015 | edit | delete


Stars - 35

Rating by Randal Graves posted on Jan 28, 2015 | edit | delete


Stars - 30

Rating by wiadp1 posted on Mar 25, 2014 | edit | delete


Stars - 40

Rating by Stuart posted on Jul 2, 2012 | edit | delete


Stars - 40

Rating by Alltongue posted on Jun 10, 2012 | edit | delete


Stars - 35

Rating by emric posted on Jun 1, 2012 | edit | delete


visually a little lacklustre, but still a solid and fun little canine piratey romp


this is a solid little adventure about canine pirates from local australian developer (well, local for me at least Wink brawsome.

it contains a very useful interface enhancement that i don’t remember being used in any other adventure game i’ve played—the rollover text label for an object or character is a different colour if there is unread information about it. so unlike most adventure games, you don’t have to hear a repeated message before you know that you’ve heard all the details about something—you can see it instantly with just a rollover. very smart!

overall structure and puzzle design are very neat and logical and at just the right level of difficulty to get you thinking, but not have you frustrated and stuck (and there’s an effective hint system available to make sure you progress smoothly too). the voice-acting is mostly quite good. the writing isn’t too adventurous, but is perfectly suitable.

the biggest complaint i had about it is that the artwork wasn’t lush or particularly attractive, in fact i’d describe it as kinda drab (but perhaps my feelings were emphasised cos i recently played ‘the whispered world’ which has just about the most gorgeous 2D painted backgrounds i’ve seen in any adventure game).

oh, actually an even bigger criticism i had was the excessive artwork compression. i don’t know why you’d need to compress the artwork at all! the whole game looked as if low-quality jpegs were used with noticeable compression artefacts present in every scene. and that’s a shame, cos in most other areas of the game they got things pretty right. the version i played was downloaded (thru steam i think). perhaps there’s an alternative/updated release of it available now which has uncompressed graphical assets. if so i’d recommend that one.


Read the review »

Time Played: 5-10 hours

Stars - 50

Rating by MoonBird posted on May 19, 2012 | edit | delete


Stars - 25

Rating by Duffadash posted on Jan 5, 2013 | edit | delete


Stars - 35

Rating by Sinusoid posted on Feb 21, 2021 | edit | delete


Page 1 of 2    1 2 > 
Back to the top