• Log In | Sign Up

  • News
  • Reviews
  • Games Database
  • Game Discovery
  • Search
  • New Releases
  • Forums
continue reading below

Reader reviews for The Curse of Monkey Island

Adventure Gamers Reader reviews, read what other adventure gamers think of The Curse of Monkey Island.

Average Reader Rating for The Curse of Monkey Island


Average based on 70 ratings

Your Rating:

add review

Latest reader reviews


Stars - 45

Rating by Unsung posted on Sep 14, 2018 | edit | delete


Stars - 40

Rating by My Dune posted on Dec 25, 2017 | edit | delete


Stars - 20

Rating by SG59 posted on Oct 15, 2017 | edit | delete


Stars - 50

Rating by andixoida posted on Jun 29, 2017 | edit | delete


My Childhood in an Adventure Point and Click Game


This is the game that introduced me to Adventure Point and Clicks. I played it in 1998 first I think and replayed it many times. It’s locations are amazing. I remember loving the Hotel the most, it had something to it that I love and can’t put my finger on, but it really got you THERE, in that atmosphere.
It will be forever in my heart.


Read the review »

Time Played: Over 20 hours

Stars - 45

Rating by thorn969 posted on Apr 5, 2017 | edit | delete


One of my introductions to adventure gaming


This was the first Monkey Island game I played and one of the first adventure games I played after Myst.

It was my introduction to humor in adventure games and cartoony graphics and I absolutely loved it.


Read the review »

Time Played: 5-10 hours
Difficulty: Just Right

Stars - 45

Rating by inessa posted on Jul 4, 2015 | edit | delete


Stars - 50

Rating by Randal Graves posted on Jan 28, 2015 | edit | delete


Stars - 45

Rating by DrewClue posted on Nov 28, 2014 | edit | delete


Stars - 50

Rating by VilseGris posted on Jun 15, 2014 | edit | delete


Stars - 35

Rating by Kelop posted on May 31, 2014 | edit | delete


Good, relaxed and humoristic game


I have first finally played through this game when I was 28 years old. I wrote finally, because I remember this game from computer game magazines around the time when I entered the world of computer gaming at age of thirteen and somehow I never got around to playing this game before. The reason why I am saying this is because this game has a somewhat sentimental value to me on one side and it may be aimed to a different age group than me on the other side.

Generally, my impressions of this game are positive. High production value (as can be expected from Lucas Arts) and the puzzles are just right, not too challenging and not too easy. The nature of the puzzles is usually inductive and makes sense even if in a bit crazy and funny way. On the other hand, the interaction mechanics are unvaried offering mostly, if not only, the puristic point and click approach. The graphics are very pretty, sort of an apex for 2D adventure games which was reached around that time in late 90s and the music is nice. Nothing more or less than that. What I like about this game especially is the climate and setting during the first part of it which takes place in the pirate port city. What I liked less are the following locations. It’s been a year since I’ve played it and I can’t remember those locations too well. That means that they weren’t memorable enough too me.

Another characteristic worth mentioning here is the relaxed fun humor that has it’s good and bad sides. It’s good if you are looking for a fun, light spirited game and it’s bad if you are looking for a deep immersion as the are some funny fourth wall breakers present in the game. Overall this game was pleasant to play but failed to leave any lasting impression. It’s aimed toward any age group with a mild indication at the younger audience maybe due to the simple story and the type of humor.

Try it if you are looking for a comedic pirate game.
Skip it if you want a serious and/or deep story.

Story: 2.5/5
Puzzles: 4/5
Setting/Climate: 4/5
Aesthetics: 4/5


Read the review »

Time Played: Over 20 hours
Difficulty: Just Right

Page 1 of 7    1 2 3 >  Last ›