• Reviews
  • Top Games
  • Search
  • New Releases
  • Daily Deals
  • Forums
continue reading below

Adventure Gamers - Forums

Welcome to Adventure Gamers. Please Sign In or Join Now to post.

You are here: HomeForum Home → Gaming → Adventure → Thread

Post Marker Legend:

• New Topic New posts
  • Old Topic No new posts

Currently online

Support us, by purchasing through these affiliate links

Looking to make my own point-and-click game(s).... good options for dialogue?

Total Posts: 4

Joined 2017-10-24

PM

Hey, nice to meet everyone. I want to make games! So I’m doing a lot of research to see what systems/engines people suggest using.

I realize I won’t be creating anything large, polished, or at all impressive for a while, since I’m just starting out right now, but I’m still looking ahead to what I want to do.  I’ve taken a look at several point-and-clicks made by beginners like me and there appears to be several options for engines I can use that will have all the basics (Adventure Game Studio, Adventure Creator, Adventure Game Engine, etc.).

One thing I’m curious about though is using some complex dialogue mechanics, so I’m wondering if certain systems are better than others.  Again, I doubt I’ll use most of these ideas for my first game but I’d like to start on the right track and not have to learn a completely different engine down the road.

Here’s what I’m looking to do, concerning dialogue and voices:

—dialogue appears in word balloons (I think this one should be fine, but I’ve mostly only seen text being placed above the speaker’s head in other beginner games so I don’t know if there are weird hoops you have to go through to do that)
—realistic interruptions (no *character stops talking mid sentence…. half second pause…. next character starts talking*)
—multiple dialogues/voices at once (similar to previous- so characters can talk over each other)