• News
  • Reviews
  • Top Games
  • Search
  • New Releases
  • Daily Deals
  • Forums

Adventure Gamers - Forums

Welcome to Adventure Gamers. Please Sign In or Join Now to post.

You are here: HomeForum Home → Gaming → Hint Requests & Technical Problems → Thread

Post Marker Legend:

• New Topic New posts
  • Old Topic No new posts

Currently online

KeybordzLady Kestrel

Support us, by purchasing through these affiliate links

Gabriel Knight 3 Windows 10 Guide (GOG)

Total Posts: 46

Joined 2020-01-20

PM

Hi!

I’m not technically new, but I forgot my password and my nick. Anyway, I struggled with getting Gabriel Knight 3 to run smoothly on Windows 10 for weeks so I figured I should post a guide here since we’re all Adventure Gamers here Smile I hope this helps someone who is struggling with getting the game to run on Win10, even if it’s months from when I posted this. I achieved all this by trial and error, so I don’t know if every step is required.

1. Install Gabriel Knight 3 to C: directory. Don’t use any pre-set folder suggestions. Just put it in C:

2. Download the latest release of dgVoodoo2

2. Unrar/Unzip the dgvoodoo folder, and COPY every single .dll file from MS->x86 and 3Dfx -x86 folders.

3. PASTE all of them to the Gabriel Knight 3 Folder. It’s important you paste the files, and not the folders. And make sure they’re all x86 and not the other (for 32bit games).

4. Now open dgVoodooCpl and Add a new game. Choose the C:\Gabriel Knight 3 FOLDER and click OK.

5. Inside dgVoodooCpl, Go to DirectX TAB.

5. Enable “Force VSync, Fast Video Memory Access”. You can also set anti-aliasing to 8.

6. Under “GENERAL”-tab choose Windowed or Full Screen (try out which one works the best for you)

7. Click on Apply and leave the window open.

You can toggle things like anti-aliasing under DirectX.