• News
  • Reviews
  • Top Games
  • Search
  • New Releases
  • Daily Deals
  • Forums

Adventure Gamers - Forums

Welcome to Adventure Gamers. Please Sign In or Join Now to post.

You are here: HomeForum Home → Gaming → General → Thread

Post Marker Legend:

• New Topic New posts
  • Old Topic No new posts

Currently online

BeckychrissiefurgottenJdawg445

Support us, by purchasing through these affiliate links

Survey on navigational aids and player guidance in action adventure video games - A bachelor thesis survey from a game art student :) (google forms)

Total Posts: 2

Joined 2018-01-28

PM

Link to the survey: https://goo.gl/forms/ktAKwKwVAvodCr3E2

My name is Lucas and I am in my last year of studying game art and 3D animation in Frankfurt.

I am currently working on my bachelor thesis, investigating if in action adventure games navigational aids like a compass or a map are always necessary or if game designers should rely more on the design of the world and characters itself, guiding the player subconsciously. I want to find out why more and more developers tend to use quest markers, arrows or x-ray vision to guide players through their games. In my opinion action adventures have gotten a lot easier and more generic because of it.

Here is a thought provoking quote that might help you understand why I chose this topic:

“If you get lost, refer to the metaphor as you would check a map on a journey. But don’t mistake the map for the journey. You don’t drive with a map pasted to your windshield. You consult it before setting out or when you get disorientated. The joy of a journey is not reading or following a map, but exploring unknown places and wandering off the map now and then. It’s only by getting creatively lost, beyond the boundaries of tradition, that new discoveries can be made.”

- Christopher Vogler, The Writer’s Journey: Mythic Structure for Writers