You are viewing an archived version of the site which is no longer maintained.
Go to the current live site or the Adventure Gamers forums
Adventure Gamers

Home Adventure Forums Gaming General Your videogame childhood to adulthood trip

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-30-2005, 08:52 AM   #1
Homer of Kittens

Default Your videogame childhood to adulthood trip

I started with an Atari 2600

and the old Game and watches

Then I bought a Commodore 64, a mini-computer from germany, that played games from a cassette player
and afterwards I bought a Floppy drive for it, which was more expensive back then than the price of the whole commodore

In 94 I bought my first PC, a 486 DX2 with 4 MB of RAM and a small floppy hard drive. 4 MB of RAM back then was waaaay too much, and CD Roms were almost non existent. I've been playing PC gaming for the last 9 years, till I finally bought a PS2] and an XBOX

That is my brief (20 year old history), of gaming. What's yours?

Firefox rules
Old 06-30-2005, 09:36 AM   #2
The Reggienator

Send a message via ICQ to Kolzig Send a message via MSN to Kolzig

My brother had a Commodore Vic 20 with a cassette player that our father bought him in the mid 80's, I think. That was the first gaming experience I got. Then in late 80's he got a brand new Commodore 128 with a floppy drive. We took the cassette player from Vic and used it with the 128.

Next he sold the 128 away and got the newest thing on the block when it was red hot, Commodore Amiga 500. That was the best machine for gaming I've ever experienced. Then my brother stopped playing computer games and he gave me his Amiga. That was my first machine that I myself owned.

In 1995 I bought my first PC, a used 486 33Mhz DX2 with 8Mb of RAM, it had an old 5.25" drive and a modern 3.5" drive. The 5.25" was quite useless, there were no new games anymore that used those discs. In 1996 or so I bought a 5x cd-rom drive for it so that I could experience all the new CD games that were coming out.