You are viewing an archived version of the site which is no longer maintained.
Go to the current live site or the Adventure Gamers forums
Adventure Gamers

Home Adventure Forums Gaming General RPG Advice for a total newbie?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-04-2004, 09:21 AM   #1
Curiouser and curiouser

Default RPG Advice for a total newbie?

Okay, I don't know, I'm THINKING about maybe trying out an RPG . . . The last time I played one of these was in 6th grade on a 64K Atari that we thought was the greatest thing since sliced bread. I take it the technology has advanced some.

I would really like some advice though about whether I would even like these, how much I need to know, and what to buy. Straight up, I'm not ANY good at anything that requires manual dexterity in a timed situation--BS3 was a nightmare for me, and even

Spoiler:

dumb things like zapping the Octopus in Beyond Atlantis or slashing the guy on the train in Last Express stressed me out and I had to try a bunch of times.

So I can't tell if battles in all of these games are action-based, or there are ones where you can just sort of puzzle it out or something. Also, since I haven't played anything D&D-like since grade school, I don't know any rules, just a few concepts.

I like the idea of open gameplay, but if it's way too open and I can't tell what to do, what do I do???!! I've heard that KOTOR for example is a little more linear. Thoughts?

And finally I don't know about graphics. I was thinking, gee, maybe I should just get Baldur's Gate II, you know, go with some classic, but the screenshots I've seen just look--well frankly they look pretty weird.

Any advice would be mucho appreciated, including "These games are SO not for you," in which case I'll just suck it up and shell out more money on eBay for the adventures I still haven't played.
Old 12-04-2004, 10:15 AM   #2
merely human