You are viewing an archived version of the site which is no longer maintained.
Go to the current live site or the Adventure Gamers forums
Adventure Gamers

Home Adventure Forums Gaming General Advice concerning RPGs

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-26-2004, 06:48 AM   #1
Liver of Life

Default Advice concerning RPGs

Hey all,

It's me.

Anyway, I've been debating with myself recently over buying one of two games: Neverwinter Nights and Baldur's Gate II. Both received excellent reviews and identical scores (9.2) from Gamespot, my personal most trusted gaming source (as cluttered as the website is; but that's another story). Given they both sound excellent, I was wondering if anyone out here could advice me as to which one to get.

Just so you know a little about my own gaming history: I'm relatively new to RPGs. The only RPG I've played so far is Knights of the Old Republic, and I absolutely loved it. If KOTOR was a woman, I'd ask her to marry me. But she isn't, *sigh* oh well. Anyway, anyone who has played KOTOR will, therefore, know something about my taste in RPG. That said, I'm always willing to try new things if they're worth trying.

And please, only one of the two. Given the current state of things, I could technically afford them both, but I don't want to get them both, I'm a one-game-at-a-time person. If, for example, NWN is the better game, then I'd want to play that first. And once I've played a better game, i couldn't possibly play the worser game, you see?

That said, I really would like the next game I play to be an RPG-like game. I want a long and immersive game. I played Knights of the Old Republic obsessively for 5 days, and finished it in that time. I want that feeling again (not necessarily for just 5 days - longer is okay).

So what do you have to say about this? Perhaps any other RPG? Diablo II? Morrowind?

EDIT: Would ya look at that? 500 smackeroony posts!

Last edited by Zygomaticus; 07-26-2004 at 06:59 AM.
Old 07-26-2004, 06:54 AM   #2