You are viewing an archived version of the site which is no longer maintained.
Go to the current live site or the Adventure Gamers forums
Adventure Gamers

Home Adventure Forums Gaming General Todays' equivalent of Wing Commander?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-30-2007, 12:59 PM   #1
Master of time and space

Default Todays' equivalent of Wing Commander?

As the topic suggests, is there an equivalent of Wing Commander today?
I own all five Wing Commander games and love them to death, but I wish there was something today that's measurable with them, but with today's standards. Basically what I'm looking for is a game with a nice story where I'm a pilot and it plays similarly like Wing Commander.

PS: I already own all the X-wing and Tie Fighter games as well.
Old 11-30-2007, 01:47 PM   #2

Send a message via MSN to I Love Cookiemonster

omg omg omg Wing Commander Rules!!!!

still hoping to play the first 2, what's your favorite?

Only games i can recommend are Starlancer(which is pretty difficult in comparison to wing commander) and X-wing Alliance. both are about 8 years old. But those games arn't being made anymore. I remember Xenocrazy or something like that(it started with X, i could look it up but i'm to lazy ) which was pretty good. Never seen it in stores though. Wouldn't know about any other game
I'm the root of all that's evil yeah but you can call me Cookie
Old 11-30-2007, 01:52 PM   #3
DAVE

Try the freespace games. They're not recent, but they're awesome and any computer today can run them nicely. I've played them in my 7 year old rig (which was only average by then's patterns) and it runs smoothly always.
Old 11-30-2007, 03:02 PM   #4
Master of time and space

Quote:
Originally Posted by I Love Cookiemonster View Post
omg omg omg Wing Commander Rules!!!!

still hoping to play the first 2, what's your favorite?