You are viewing an archived version of the site which is no longer maintained.
Go to the current live site or the Adventure Gamers forums
Adventure Gamers

Home Adventure Forums Gaming General Why is the writing so poor in games?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-03-2006, 03:15 AM   #1
Explode the Universe!

Send a message via MSN to SnorkleCat Send a message via Yahoo to SnorkleCat
Default Why is the writing so poor in games?

Okay.... I have to bring this up.

I am rather new to games (been playing just this year)....I'm also a writer/journalist and part of a start up games company called Screwy Lightbulb...I have had my reasons for disliking 'gaming culture' in the past...too boy oriented, puerile, violent, nasty stereotypes, mysogeny etc...but I've found a new and unexpected passion in adventure games, and I'm glad I decided to give them a try. I'm also very excited to enter the industry and work on these games myself.

BUT!

I am finding that the quality of script writing is in general very poor, and that's a disappointment. I thought that a strong and compelling story was a necessary element in an adventure game! If this is correct, then why is the bar apparently so low, especially when other production values are so high? Keepsake is a good example of this sad but common phenomenon; I loved the art work, and I loved the puzzles. In fact, I very much enjoyed the game....but the dialogue and writing? Awful. The fact that the two main characters spoke (and sounded) like Canadian mall rats somewhat detracted from the fantasy setting, and made the story, by default, dull. Keepsake isn't alone. I was underwhelmed by the writing in Scratches, Paradise, Ankh, and plenty of others. On the other hand, I liked Grim Fandango. I don't know if it was the writing or Tony Plana's excellent acting, but I found Grim Fandango to be delightful and engrossing. Fable, on the other hand was NOT, and I'd like to strangle Quickthorpe with my bare hands.