Adventure Forums

Adventure Forums (https://adventuregamers.com/archive/forums/)
-   Feedback (https://adventuregamers.com/archive/forums/feedback/)
-   -   Myst V review (https://adventuregamers.com/archive/forums/feedback/11659-myst-v-review.html)

Fairygdmther 11-03-2005 07:15 PM

Myst V review

The review is a good one, but I was surprised to see 4/5 stars. Tom King seemed to be aggravated a good deal of the time from the review. I guess he liked it overall.

There is one place where he refers to the Bahro as "standing prone". Since prone means to be laying face down, I had no idea what was meant here.

"prone (prōn)
adj.
Lying with the front or face downward.
Having a tendency; inclined: paper that is prone to yellowing; children who are prone to mischief.
adv.
In a prone manner: The patient was lying prone on the bed."

I'm a nurse who uses the terms prone and supine (face down and face up) very frequently in work, but I looked it up to see if there was some meaning I don't know, but I didn't find any.

Lynsie

Jackal 11-03-2005 07:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fairygdmther
Tom King seemed to be aggravated a good deal of the time from the review.

I don't read that at all, aside from a few gripes about some sloppy slate implementation. Good graphics, good music, good characters, good controls, ties the series story together nicely, etc. What are you basing your comment on?

Quote:

There is one place where he refers to the Bahro as "standing prone". Since prone means to be laying face down, I had no idea what was meant here.
It CAN mean lying down, but doesn't have to.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Merriam Webster
Etymology: Middle English, from Latin pronus bent forward, tending; akin to Latin pro forward -- more at FOR
1 : having a tendency or inclination : being likely <prone to forget names> <accident-prone>
2 a : having the front or ventral surface downward b : lying flat or prostrate