Adventure Forums

Adventure Forums (https://adventuregamers.com/archive/forums/)
-   AG Underground - Freeware Adventures (https://adventuregamers.com/archive/forums/ag-underground-freeware-adventures/)
-   -   Any Tips For A Newbie (AGS)? (https://adventuregamers.com/archive/forums/ag-underground-freeware-adventures/766-any-tips-newbie-ags.html)

bootzboy 11-06-2003 11:12 AM

Any Tips For A Newbie (AGS)?

Hello!

I'm new to programming with AGS (Ive been using an older program, I'm not even sure where I got it but I deleted it recently) and am just starting out with my game. I assume I should start with a little backstory.

The basic plot is a mystery from the get go and without going too far in depth you the player watch an opening scene of a young woman walking a path up a snowy mountain talking to herself. The title roles (The Dark Chronicles : Returning Home) and you start Act 1. You're in this ski lodge place and from there you go in a rustic chairlift, a large mansion, secret catacombs, and a gorgeous garden all while discovering the past of your character, the reason she is at this luxurious and exotic estate and the secret behind it all.

I'm working on a more final copy of Act 1 which I want to put up on the net to see how people reply. I just want to know if any of you guys have tips for someone who is just starting. I have been using the tutorials and all that to do color palettes and stuff but anything - whether it be technical, or storywise - would be greatly appreciated.

Thankyou for reading! Happy Gaming!
- bootz

Erwin_Br 11-06-2003 11:39 AM

Think big, start small. ;)

And spend a lot of time at the AGS forums. Very helpful people there.

--Erwin

AGA 11-06-2003 11:55 AM

Yeah, www.agsforums.com/yabb - go there, introduce yourself and get the latest version of AGS.

jannar85 11-06-2003 12:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Erwin_Br
Think big, start small. ;)

Hey! You stole my motto! Just I have the other way around.
"Start small, think big"