You are viewing an archived version of the site which is no longer maintained.
Go to the current live site or the Adventure Gamers forums
Adventure Gamers

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-28-2010, 11:59 AM   #1

Default Some questions.

Hi all,

I'm kind of new here, so i hope this is the right place.
I'm planning and setting out all what is needed to start to develop a small adventure game. I have some questions to the devs around here.

What engine, or framework do you recommend?
Currently i am thinking about flash since it can be used for web, pc and mac publishing.
Or do you guys think, this is a bad idea?

I looked into other engines like AGS and torque 2D, but the first lacks mac and the second web opportunities.

Second question, if i don't choose flash, should i choose something C based?
I'm no programmer, so that's why these question are quiet technical flavored.

Thanks in advance!
Old 08-28-2010, 01:15 PM   #2
Spoonbeaks say Ahoy!

Hi there, cake!

All the engines you mentioned have good reputation. Personally, I use AGS and must say it is very flexible and overall problem-free.

It's true that the games made with it are not portable to web browsers (just yet) nor to Macs. However, AGS has the great benefit of a large, friendly community, who will be interested in helping you with your game's development and commenting on the finished product later on.
Old 08-28-2010, 02:04 PM   #3

I say stick with AGS. You only need to look on the official website to get support and documentation on the engine and it's very user friendly. I'm in the middle of making something with it and I'm getting that much used to it as I progress with it.

I also recommend taking a look at the Wintermute engine. It's free as well, and offers much more features and proper 3D support - but it's not as intermediate as AGS.
Old 08-28-2010, 03:51 PM   #4

Hi! Thanks for your replies and suggestions.