Adventure Forums

Adventure Forums (https://adventuregamers.com/archive/forums/)
-   AG Underground - Freeware Adventures (https://adventuregamers.com/archive/forums/ag-underground-freeware-adventures/)
-   -   Designing and playtesting games (https://adventuregamers.com/archive/forums/ag-underground-freeware-adventures/20738-designing-playtesting-games.html)

After a brisk nap 08-21-2007 07:11 AM

Designing and playtesting games

Wired has an excellent article on the playtesting of Halo 3. By analyzing thousands of hours of play by "regular" players, they're able to pinpoint where the game is fun and where it isn't.

My background is in usability, user-centered design and human-computer interaction, so this stuff is right up my alley. I've long thought that game companies were underusing playtesting as a way to tweak their designs, and Bungie and Microsoft finally seem to have set up a proper lab and solid tools for this.

In my opinion, adventure games would benefit from this kind of playtesting. And it doesn't necessarily take a lab with one-way mirrors and dozens of cameras. One thing that has always stuck with me is reading about how Ron Gilbert designed Maniac Mansion. The first version was a paper board game, which he could test and tweak without writing a line of computer code in order to ensure that the whole game was entertaining. Because traditional adventure games are pretty simple in their mechanics, it's quite possible to test them on paper, using sketches or printouts of backgrounds, paper dolls for the characters, post-its or tokens for inventory items, and the designer playing the part of the computer and reading the lines from the script.