You are viewing an archived version of the site which is no longer maintained.
Go to the current live site or the Adventure Gamers forums
Adventure Gamers

Home Adventure Forums Gaming Adventure Adventure games requiring dexterity

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-09-2004, 04:09 AM   #1

Default Adventure games requiring dexterity

I've never used a forum of any kind before so forgive my ignorance. I just wondered if anyone else was as irritated as I was to find that BS3 is spoiled by the inclusion of the requirement for 'shoot em up' keyboard dexterity. I buy games like the Myst triology and BS specifically because the challenge is cerebral rather than a test of keyboard skills. I'm not sure I'm gonna live long enough to develop the speed required to get Petra and Geoge back into the lift.

Last edited by trotsky; 09-09-2004 at 04:21 AM.
Old 09-09-2004, 04:13 AM   #2
Movie Buff & Gamer

Send a message via AIM to Sanjuro2

Hmmm... I understand your frustration. Not because I agree, but simply because I realize that most people feel that adventure games don't need stuff like this. For me personally, it's not a big deal. I grew up on both action games and adventure games, so I'm prepared for whatever...
Old 09-09-2004, 04:24 AM   #3
merely human

It's not a problem for me, as I also play titles from other genres requiring a lot of that skill - first person shooters, action/adventures, survival horror, etc. It would become a problem if those action elements were not designed well for anyone. Broken Sword 3 actually suffered from this problem - poor camera handling, weak stealth sequences, and unfairly vague quick decision making.
platform: laptop, iPhone 3Gs | gaming: x360, PS3, psp, iPhone, wii | blog: a space alien | book: the moral landscape: how science can determine human values by sam harris | games: l.a.noire, portal 2, brink, dragon age 2, heavy rain | sites: NPR, skeptoid, gaygamer | music: ray lamontagne, adele, washed out, james blake | twitter: a_space_alien