You are viewing an archived version of the site which is no longer maintained.
Go to the current live site or the Adventure Gamers forums
Adventure Gamers

Home Adventure Forums Gaming Adventure Kickstarter and adventures

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-07-2012, 04:20 PM   #1

Default Kickstarter and adventures

Mirroring the "Fatigue" thread, (sorry, Kuru! ) i wanted to answer the question - Why should I support adventure game Kickstarter campaigns?

I'm not going to talk about the cons of kickstarter system - it's there. After all, we're paying for an unfinished product which may or may not be made with money we may or may not have... Something's wrong here - and i'm no economics expert to be fully aware of it (i'll just keep shut on all of this next time i'm doing the exam). But speaking of game campaigns, and when you think of it - it's not really much different to an "upgraded" pre-order - pledgings MAY or may not be more worth than the actual game and awards, but they're on the voluntary basis.

I see kicksarter as a natural thingie in "evolution" of internet, world coming "together", rise of indie games... And the all-known thought of aspiring millionaires: "If I had a dollar from every men in the world..." seems to be more reachable than ever. We had "donations" to small developers before, now it's Kickststarter (and already other similar sites to it), and who knows what will be next?

So, how the legendary adventure game designers fit in?

If we're to make the list of genre's best designers - there're many, but some names will be heard often. And when couple of those, decide to get back via Kickstarter - some of them being back in business after 10+ years, or making their first adventure game after 10+ years... - unless it's being too much of a coincidence, nothing is assuring us that we wouldn't be waiting for another 5-10 years for their return, without the Kickstarter involvement.