You are viewing an archived version of the site which is no longer maintained.
Go to the current live site or the Adventure Gamers forums
Adventure Gamers

Home Adventure Forums Gaming Adventure The oldest gamer.....

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-26-2012, 01:50 AM   #1
Pink fluffy Xmas bunny

Default The oldest gamer.....

After reading the "Who remembers your first game" post, I started thinking about how long I have been playing adventure games, and its a long, long time.
So, I'm interested in hearing aboutyour early gaming experiences. It doesnt matter if you started on a Sinclair ZX81 in 1980, or a quad core pc in 2010.

I'm a 40yr old english teacher and still love gaming as much as I did when I was a wide-eyed 10 yr old receiving his first ever computer. My students think I'm crazy for playing games at my age - somehow, it's an activity reserved for the young uns.
When I tell them I was playing games before they were born, they look at me like I belong in a mental asylum.....
Old 02-26-2012, 02:12 AM   #2
cookie monster

I started gaming casually somewhere mid 90s. I turned hardcore in Q4 2000 and since then have finished over 400 games. More than half of those are FPSes.
Old 02-26-2012, 02:32 AM   #3
Pink fluffy Xmas bunny

Thats quite interesting, i wonder how many of you guys are pure adventure gamers, and how many just like gaming?

I for one enjoy all kinds of gaming - BUT - there has to be a story, even in a FPS.

Some of my all time favourite non-adventure games are :
Call of Duty
Bioshock
Deus Ex

And then there's the RPG games
Planescape:Torment
Neverwinter Nights
Baldurs Gate
Vampire the Masquerade
Old 02-26-2012, 03:11 AM   #4
Space Cadet

It was the 80s for me, as a design engineer I was starting to see CAD emerge in a big way, and when I spotted an Amstrad 464 whilst Christmas shopping in the city centre I bought it.