You are viewing an archived version of the site which is no longer maintained.
Go to the current live site or the Adventure Gamers forums
Adventure Gamers

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-18-2011, 08:08 PM   #1

Default Syberia Series

I'm playing Syberia for the first time now. I wanted to play it back when it came out but I never got around to playing it. I have been rewarded for my long wait because I found a DVD version that has Syberia 1 and 2 and Amerzone all on one DVD and updated to run on Windows 7 for $11 on ebay including shipping from the UK to Canada. A pretty good deal I think.

I remember reading the reviews when it came out and hearing that it was going to be great like The Longest Journey so I convinced my friend to buy it and I don't think he ever played it because he said it was too boring and he would make fun of me for suggesting he buy it, I am going to have to tell him that he just wasn't patient enough.

I had forgot he dais that until I started playing and after having to walk though countless scenes over and over again where there isn't even anything to interact with. I also hate that Kate has to abruptly stop if she is running and has to climb stairs (of which there are so many and the animation takes forever)!

That said after struggling through Valadilène with constant walkthrough help the game is starting to pick up and the story is really intriguing. I am almost finished with Barrockstadt and have not had to rely as heavily on the walkthrough. (I checked the walkthough so much because I didn't want to have to walk through so many screens to find out what I had forgotten or find out that I couldn't do anything because I didn't have the right item yet.)

Also, I really like Kate Walker's voice, not quite as much as April Ryan but definitely a lot more than Victoria from Still Life. (Her voice was really cringe-worthy at times when she would swear.)