You are viewing an archived version of the site which is no longer maintained.
Go to the current live site or the Adventure Gamers forums
Adventure Gamers

Home Adventure Forums Gaming Adventure Have a hard time playing "funny" adventure games

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-06-2009, 05:23 AM   #1

Default Have a hard time playing "funny" adventure games

I used to like playing the old type of adventure games that where all quite funny and relied heavely on humour (monkey island, discworld, sam & max, day of the tentacle and so on).

But after i started playing more adventuregames with more dark detective murder stories and the like (Still Life, Sherlock holmes, The experiment) i find it really hard to get interested in those more lightheaded humour games. I dont know if its the story i am mainly interested in, beacuse i have a hard time to find myself pushing forward in games that may be great but dont have that suspensive story and are more toward humour or something.

I am playing So Blond right now, and i found it funny and good and played 3/4 of the game, then i could not bare myself to find the interest to push forward so now i am just going through the last 1/4 of the game with the walkthrough. Anyone else feeling like me?
Old 09-06-2009, 06:25 AM   #2

I know what you mean.

For me, mood and atmosphere are crucial ingredients to a game. A game that can completely immerse me in its world is a piece of heaven to me.

The thing about humor is that while it works, it often takes you out of the game world or interrupts the mood. Of course, when used sparingly, humor is perfectly fine to break up tension. But those games that focus on being tongue-in-cheek and humorous, tend to overstay their welcome, and the humor eventually becomes more of a mood disruptor than anything else.