You are viewing an archived version of the site which is no longer maintained.
Go to the current live site or the Adventure Gamers forums
Adventure Gamers

Home Adventure Forums Gaming Adventure Adventure game market, sales, stats

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-12-2009, 05:02 AM   #1

Default Adventure game market, sales, stats

Hello everyone!
I am an MBA student, writing my master thesis in form of a business plan for starting up a game company, developing an adventure game, and then selling it.

In school, we were taught that the first order of things is to analyze the the size of market and sales potential. I have been browsing countless adventure game related sites and forums, but nowhere I could find comprehensive information on the actual sales performance of adventure games. The only stats available were from 2003:

http://www.justadventure.com/article...03ret_gam.shtm

http://www.justadventure.com/article...anFeb2004.shtm

Those numbers are great, but they are somewhat outdated, since much has changed in those six years. In 2003, the adventure genre might have reached it's bottom, and from what I've researched, it looks like there has been a resurgence of interest in the genre in recent years. I know, the financial crisis affected adventure games as much (or even more) than the rest of the games industry, but I am looking to establish a trend, culminating in the game's release sometimes in 2010-2011. This also not a purely theoretical exercise, as I would actually love to test this business plan in practice and develop an actual game!

So if anyone could point me to more recent sales numbers of adventure games (or any similar relevant info, such number of downloads for free online games, etc), I would very much appreciate it!
Old 08-12-2009, 06:36 AM   #2

Welcome Hobbit!