You are viewing an archived version of the site which is no longer maintained.
Go to the current live site or the Adventure Gamers forums
Adventure Gamers

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-04-2009, 08:56 AM   #1

Default More innovation?

I was going to respond to the “I Hate Puzzles” thread but as I started writing this I realized it was turning into my basic feelings about AG’s in gen. so here you go. Trust me that I’m not trying to offend anyone, just giving my personal views on the genre.

I started playing AG's for their stories, because that's what I’d heard is their selling point and I love a good story in a game. But frankly I've been disappointed in that aspect of the genre as well as the inane puzzles which the bulk of them contain.

To many plots left unresolved or cliffhanger endings that pretty much require a sequel. Nothing wrong with that I guess, however as far as I’m concerned, a game, like a good book should have a beginning, middle, and ending that explains why you spent X amount of hours playing it. It doesn’t have to spoon feed you the plot, but should at least resolve in a satisfying way or at the very least, have you thinking about it once you complete it.

As to puzzles. There are tons of really stupid puzzles in AG's. Some have already been mentioned, Still Life cookie baking for one. I don't recall the game but there's one where you have to put a camera on a cats back, another where you place a stick of dynamite on a rat. I could go on and on. It wouldn’t be so bad if these puzzles moved the story forward, but many don’t.

Also way to many puzzles that seem to be added to AG’s for filler and nothing more. To many illogical puzzles to solve or some type of math puzzle where, maybe because I’m not the brightest star in the universe, I have to use a walkthrough, (or calculator) to get by. Or you’re given no clue as to what to do next or why.