You are viewing an archived version of the site which is no longer maintained.
Go to the current live site or the Adventure Gamers forums
Adventure Gamers

Home Adventure Forums Gaming Adventure Recommendations for a Newbie?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-08-2009, 12:46 PM   #1

Default Recommendations for a Newbie?

I am new to adventure games, and I am just trying to dig a little deeper.

So far I have played through

Post Mortem
Still Life
The Longest Journey
Dreamfall

I am a sucker for good female leads, and that often can make a break a game for me. I just want a new game to test the waters with, I love the stories these games tell.

I am going to go sift around the reviews now! ^_^
Old 02-08-2009, 01:05 PM   #2
handsome

Well, there's Syberia, it's quite a good game. Didn't liked the 2nd one though.
Old 02-08-2009, 01:10 PM   #3

Send a message via MSN to AndreaDraco83

I suggest the Gabriel Knight trilogy, which - in its second and third chapter - features Grace Nakimura as a second playable character.
Top Ten Adventures: Gabriel Knight Series, King's Quest VI, Conquests of the Longbow, Quest for Glory II, Police Quest III, Gold Rush!, Leisure Suit Larry III, Under a Killing Moon, Conquests of Camelot, Freddy Pharkas Frontier Pharmacist.

Now Playing: Neverwinter Nights, Professor Layton and the Diabolical Box
Old 02-08-2009, 01:50 PM   #4

Gabriel Knight might be a little beyond my tolerance level graphic wise. If its not pretty I have a hard time sitting through it.

But Syberia looks pretty good. I might go out and buy it this afternoon.
Old 02-08-2009, 02:20 PM   #5
Coktel Vision Fan!

I suggest any Broken Sword game, classic easy titles, with nice graphics & awesome plots. Nicole plays almost a lead role in Sleeping Dragon (BS3).
Angel of Death (BS4) looks nice too, although i haven't played it through yet.
Anyway BS1&2 if you like 2d hand drawn graphics or BS3&4 if you prefer 3d graphics.
Old 02-08-2009, 06:23 PM   #6