You are viewing an archived version of the site which is no longer maintained.
Go to the current live site or the Adventure Gamers forums
Adventure Gamers

Home Adventure Forums Gaming Adventure Pre-rendered vs. Real-time 3D environments

View Poll Results: Which do you prefer?
Pre-rendered / 2.5D 36 50.70%
Real-time 3D 15 21.13%
No preference 20 28.17%
Voters: 71. You may not vote on this poll

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-30-2009, 12:10 PM   #1
Hol
3D artist

Default Pre-rendered vs. Real-time 3D environments

Hi everyone!

I am a final year student currently writing a research dissertation about adventure games. The title is:

Comparative analysis of pre-rendered and real-time 3D environments in adventure games.

In this project I define these as:
Pre-rendered games (often called 2.5D) are games with 3D background images like in Grim Fandango, Syberia, The Longest Journey etc.
Real-time 3D games are when the player can freely move the camera around (Gabriel Knight 3) or the camera follows the player through the environment (Broken Sword 3 & 4) or the camera moves first-person like any action game ever.

I wondered if you guys would mind giving me your views and opinions on the debate! I would love to know:

Which do you prefer to play and why: pre-rendered or real-time 3D adventure games?

Thanks everyone!
Old 01-30-2009, 12:19 PM   #2

Send a message via MSN to AndreaDraco83

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hol View Post
Which do you prefer to play and why: pre-rendered or real-time 3D adventure games?
If the real-time 3D is handled in 3rd person point of view, with a free-roaming camera, like Gabriel Knight 3, I prefer this asset. Otherwise, I prefer 2.5D pre-rendered.
Top Ten Adventures: Gabriel Knight Series, King's Quest VI, Conquests of the Longbow, Quest for Glory II, Police Quest III, Gold Rush!, Leisure Suit Larry III, Under a Killing Moon, Conquests of Camelot, Freddy Pharkas Frontier Pharmacist.